We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DerekR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellington City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 48 Wellington B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“DerekR”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

A great B & B - Jeff and Dean friendly and welcoming, and their house tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Beautiful rug! Far enough from the city centre to be quiet, but nonetheless in easy walking distance (the hill is an excellent cardiovascular boost) of restaurants etc. Just great all round, highly recommended, and I'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
92
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Thank you Dean for a wonderful experience. Dean came to pick me up from the airport, gave me lots of good advice and at the end even drove me to my next hotel. When I found out i forgot something in the room, he drove again to deliver it to me. Great room, comfortable and cozy, great breakfast, really wonderful place. Hope to enjoy again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Dean, Jeff and Calvin the cat were great hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very at home.

It's also near Deluxe Cafe! You can have a cake and a coffee and have walked it off by the time you get home :) why stay anywhere else :)

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonandAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I booked City B&B based mainly on the reviews on TripAdvisor and they weren't wrong! It
suited us perfectly, being close to the city and good restaurants - the only down side being that hill (hence only 4 stars for location - though we did manage to walk up it three times during our two-night stay!). Jeff and Dean are excellent and generous hosts, and were very helpful with suggestions of what to do during our all too short stay in Wellington. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This was just the perfect place to stay if visiting Wellington. The hosts excelled, collected and returned us to the airport. We felt we had our own space (bedroom, hallway and bathroom), so no problems with privacy. Handy to the city, up a hill (hey this is Wellington) but near buses and restaurants, and views from Mt Victoria. DIY breakfast suited us perfectly, lots of fresh fruit, breads, juices. Calvin was friendly :) well slept quietly.

Room Tip: book ahead -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roskill1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here. Jeff and Dean were lovely hosts - (though you don't see them much) and the standard of everything was excellent. Situated up a bit of a hill but easy walking distance to town. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The location is at the end of a road on the Mount Victoria in a quiet residential area. The owners, who are very friendliy are living in the same house. It takes around ten minutes to walk to restaurants and shops. We stayed for three nights there and we really enjoyed it a lot. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,536 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington City Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wellington City Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Lawson Place | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington City Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern townhouse within 10 minutes walk of downtown Wellington. Queen room with ensuite bathroom. All day continental breakfast. Wireless Internet. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Wellington City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City b&b
City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing