We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming B & B in Wellington”
Review of Gardens Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardens Homestay
Ranked #5 of 46 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were tired and very sore, having just completed the 33.5 miles of the gorgeous Milford Track, and our flight from Queenstown was delayed, so we were very late in our arrival. Our spirits perked up immediately upon viewing this splendid B & B, especially when we saw the American flag flown for our benefit! And with such a warm welcome from both Neil and Sally, our spirits continued to improve, especially upon seeing the beautifully appointed suite that was pure luxury after our hiking lodges! We slept like logs in the comfortable bed and loved everything about our suite. Sally makes an incredible breakfast and is a whiz at poached eggs! Both Neil and Sally are amazing hosts, warm, knowledgeable, engaging, and interesting. We enjoyed wine by the pool, loved meeting their charming daughter, Nina, and felt fortunate to be able to do some laundry. Neil took us to the top of the hill to Stellin park for an eye-popping view of Wellington. He also referred us to a delicious restaurant in the Tinakori village named Aubergine. We cannot say enough about how wonderful this B & B is! Stay here and you will feel pampered! Neil and Sally are the absolute cat's meow in terms of B & B hosts!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaylance67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

For reasons unknown to us, Gardens Homestay attracts the most interesting and wonderful guests! Perhaps it's because they find us on TripAdvisor, the discerning traveller's guide? Whatever it is, our guests are the best and this charming couple were right at the top! Well travelled, knowledgable and personable, we were sad to see them leave. Taking them for a little side trip to see the panorama of Wellington was a real pleasure. Thank you TripAdvisor, for sending us the finest of world travellers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 90 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were in a bind trying to find a B & B in Wellington (as there was a World Cup qualifying football game in the city that we did not know about) and lucky for us we found this B & B. Sometimes good things happen and this was certainly one of them. The house is fabulous, the accommodations were top of the line and Neil and Sally topped it off by being wonderful hosts. Due to the soccer game and as the B & B was booked, we were going to leave Wellington the next day but Neil and Sally made arrangements for us to stay another night - they really put themselves out to help us. If you are going to Wellington, this is the B & B for you. John & Laurie Horrocks - Canada

Room Tip: Get Neil to show you his garage - the guys will love it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We were pleased to be able to come to the rescue of Laurie and John with an alternative room that we don't normally book. Wellington was buzzing with the excitement of the World Cup soccer match and every hotel and B&B was full. Then they were lucky enough to get tickets at the last minute to a great soccer event and enjoy the party atmosphere that prevailed in the city.
Lovely people, probably the perfect guests!
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed with Neil, Sally and Nina for 3 nights and were very pleased we did! This is a truly splendid home in a suburb of Wellington which Neil and Sally are more than happy to share with their guests. The room is fantastic; spacious, light, well decorated and furnished, and comfortable. Being in a suburb provides the best of both worlds; an easy walk into the City but away from all the mayhem. We loved it. Neil and Sally are extremely generous and clearly passionate about catering for guests' every need. They are interesting and interested and breakfast conversations were illuminating and enjoyable. A little more expensive than the other excellent places we stayed but we thought it was worth it. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarebitwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We were very fortunate to host this delightful family from Wales. Phil and Babs were visiting Wellington to visit their daughter who is practicing medicine here. Part of the pleasure for us was the lovely interaction between parents and daughter as they had not seen each other for some months.
Sally and I are pleased that their experience here was so positive and that their stay with us was so comfortable.
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The house is located in a dead-end very steep street, with the forest at one end and the Botanic Gardens at the other, which means peace and quiet. The room is very spacious with an ensuite shower room (no bath). There are no facilities in the room to make a drink, as Neil and Sally like their guests to join them for a cuppa, rather than stay in their room. However, we would have liked to have had the option, there was certainly ample room to site a table with a kettle/tea/coffee etc. The walking tour Neil has put together, is very good. Sally makes the perfect poached egg. The local eateries are great and we would particularly recommend Leaffee (cafe by day, Japanese by night). My only reservation is that we thought it a little overpriced compared to other similar properties in NZ.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stayathomeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

It's true, we greatly enjoy the company of our well traveled B&B guests, be it for a glass of wine by the pool, or tea and home baking, perhaps beside the fire in winter. Our 30 'Excellent' reviews clearly show that visiting with Sally and myself has been a very enjoyable part of the reviewers experience. It was most unfortunate that these reviewers were both suffering heavy colds during their stay with us.

If asked, we do supply tea and coffee facilities in the suite, though this is seldom requested. We're sorry that we failed in that respect. However, we're pleased that they praised Sally's poached eggs as we try hard to provide the very best breakfast possible.

Our Walking Tour is always praised by our guests. For a range of opinions on Gardens Homestay please see the 30 'Excellent' reviews below this.

Neil Harrap
Gardens Homestay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

During our recent trip through New Zealand one of the few mistakes we made was not staying longer with Neil and Sally at their lovely home in Wellington.

Every aspect was great, from my original email communications to make reservations. Neil provided excellent directions to their home, and also sent along an excellent recommendation for a walking tour of Wellington.

Upon arrival Neil greeted us, helped us park, bring our luggage in, and after an appropriate rest he invited us to sit with him in their lovely family room. We took him up on his offer and were immediately engaged in great conversation.

Everything about our stay was excellent, location (an easy walk to the city center, or a bus ride, or the cable car) but also in a charming neighborhood; our room and bath; breakfast; a great walking tour itinerary; restaurants (both in city center and in their neighborhood); and importantly - conversation. We learned a great deal about New Zealand life, not just things of tourist interest in our conversations. What a treat.

On our last day we received notice that our ferry to the South Island was delayed by several hours, and Neil immediately provided a great driving itinerary which provided a nice view of other parts of the city.

We think anyone would truly enjoy staying with Neil and Sally at Gardens Homestay.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes and follow the itinerary that Neil has laid out. It provided a wonderful t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tghenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review, our 30th Review and all of them 'excellent'!
We are fortunate to host such interesting and accomplished people from around the world. Sally and I enjoy every aspect of the B&B experience and our lives are enriched by the guest's visit.
Neil Harrap
Gardens Homestay
Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights earlier this month to spend some time with our daughter who lives in Wellington. What a beautiful home. Neil gave us a photograph album to look at which showed before and after photographs of the amazing renovation. Such attention to detail.
This B&B is situated in a great location, right next to the beautiful botanic gardens and only 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes by bus to downtown Wellington. However being a small dead end street it is also very quiet.
Neil and Sally were very attentive hosts and couldn't do enough for us. They have called their B&B a "Homestay" and this is a very accurate description.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikauLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for a lovely TripAdvisor review, Sally and I are pleased that your stay was a happy one!
Neil Harrap
Gardens Homestay
Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm remiss in posting a review (December 2010), but the fact that I'm writing this over two years later is a strong testament of the warmth and hospitality provided by Neil, Sally, and Nina at Garden Homestay. We arrived Christmas Eve to find our national flag displayed over the upper front balcony when we were met by Neil. Upon entering, the first thing we saw was their family Christmas tree in the foyer. It was our first Christmas away from our families and we felt wonderful to be included in theirs when Neil mentioned that they had a couple of small gifts under the tree for our 9 yr. old son. The home has been beautifully restored by Neil and the attention to details is incredible and can be seen throughout the house. Our suite included a separate room for our son as well as casual seating if we wanted to plan our day’s activities. There is also a balcony overlooking the street and the home is located above Wellington Botanical Gardens and very close to downtown museums, restrauants, etc. Over breakfast on the patio, Neil shared the history of the home as well as some of his travel experiences and there were lots of lively conversations. They were very gracious in helping us decide interesting places to see which is always a little difficult over any holidays. We always enjoy staying at B&B’s so that we can learn more firsthand about the countries we visit. Christmas evening we watched a televised segment of the morning’s Christmas Pageant at their Church featuring a solo by Neil and Sally’s talented daughter, Nina. We spent 18 days in New Zealand touring both islands and would definitely come back and stay in Wellington with the Harraps they really make you feel like family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilHarrap, Owner at Gardens Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Our thanks to Carol and Rich for the wonderful review of their Christmas stay with us. We do enjoy having families visit at Christmas and we're so thrilled that their stay was so pleasant for them. The best part of our B&B is the guests - without exception they are interesting , well informed travelers. Keeping the B&B as an occasional activity makes every visit enjoyable for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
534 reviews
1.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
3.7 mi away
Edgewater Lodge
Edgewater Lodge
#3 of 46 in Wellington
99 reviews
4.7 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Homestay

Address: 11 St. Mary Street | Thorndon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $207 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gardens Homestay Bed and Breakfast was built in 1892 and lovingly restored during the 1990s. Your hosts are Fly by Wire Ride inventor Neil Harrap and his wife Sally Guinness. The elegant facade features stained glass, iron lacework verandah and bay windows. We're located in historic Thorndon, five minutes walk to Parliament and downtown Wellington. We're two minutes walk to the Botanic Gardens and many cafes, restaurants and specialty shops on historic Tinakori Road. Bird Sanctuary Zealandia is located three minutes drive away, a paradise for birdwatchers. 24 Hour parking provided at the door. We have one suite only and take one party of guests at a time so as to ensure the best of attention. Read our TripAdvisor reviews to see what our guests have to say. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing