We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I attended a conference in August that was being held at the Quality Hotel Wellington and my colleague and I shared a room for 5 nights. With one small exception the hotel was perfect. The hotel location on Cuba Street is right where you would want to be in Wellington and the hotel decor is lovely. Our room was immaculately clean, very spacious, and the staff could not have been more helpful or nicer. We also had booked a room with kitchen facilities which was a huge benefit for long days.

The only minor issues would be 1. the shower had the weirdest modern design flaw - at least half the water went all over the bathroom and all the towels were needed on the floor to mop up the water - strange but true, and 2. the in-room internet set-up was the strangest I've ever seen in a hotel.

Those two issues would not keep me from staying again. It was wonderful and very reasonably priced. We loved it.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank KatieScarlettO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 521 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

Great location in Cuba Street. Staff were really good with finding parking and very friendly when checking in. Room was a good size and modern. The only problem we had was no sleep. We turned in around 11pm and until around 2am the noise from other guests coming into their rooms kept us awake......not good!!
Breakfast was great with lots of choice and the staff were efficient and friendly the whole time.
If you want a hotel in Cuba Street and have ear plugs or sleep very well then it's probably not too bad.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EggGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Stayed for one night at the Quality Hotel. Floor to Ceiling windows, opened up to balcony, so plenty of fresh air. Across the road from a great fish and chip shop, lots to do and see on Cuba Street so perfectly located. Great water pressure and heat in the shower. Lots of space in room to stretch out and relax. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staradventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Quality Hotel for one night in December 2008. The room was fantastic, floor to ceiling windows, modern decor and very spacious with two queen size beds, and also very quiet.

My only complaint was with the bathroom - it was also very stylish and contemporary, but the "wet room" layout really did make the room extremely wet after a shower.

The hotel is located right in the heart of the city, perfect for all the cafes, bars, restaurants and of course shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in January 2009. We had contacted the hotel directly and negotiated an NZ$299 weekend package deal for 2, including breakfast and full use of the hotel's facilities.

The hotel adjoins and shares some facilities with the Comfort Hotel on busy Cuba Street.

Our room was very spacious and well-furnished. There was no air-conditioning, but windows and a large fan! The room included good self-catering facilities.

We didn't dine in the evening, but there was a good variety at breakfast and the breakfast room was relaxing.

There is also a pool to enjoy.

The advertised bar seemed to be open only rarely, and never later than 10pm!

All-in-all, a nice and place and somewhere I would stay again, especially with a good package.,

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We booked a special rate (299 NZ$) which included two nights accommodation, two welcome drinks and two cooked breakfast. On check-in we were given vouchers for the drinks and breakfast. The reception staff acted professionally but they were not as friendly as we have experienced it in other hotels. The room was a big surprise. It was large and airy with contemporary furniture, flat screen TV, broadband access, a fully equipped kitchenette and a modern bathroom. The staff was obviously aware that the air condition did not work very well and therefore the room was equipped with a fan. Continental and cooked breakfast was on offer and the service as well as the quality of food was good (except for the cheese, which was dried out). We loved the location: restaurants, cafes, shops and sights were all in walking distance. On a rainy day we enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the spa on the roof top. Overall, the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sun005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Booked a rate through the hotel directly and they were excellent to deal with and very accomodating.

Reception staff let the place down a bit as does the lack of parking. We were charged a higher rate for parking than advertised in the room book (tried to argue this but with little interest from the lady at reception) and also lost our parking space while out for the day and had to park outside unsecured.

The room was really roomy and nice and new. The bed was not the most comfortable but not bad for a weekend stay. The shower sprays onto the bathroom door so the wood on the door has swollen a bit and didn't close perfectly but not really a problem yet (could be in the future).

Location is excellent right on cuba street which can be a bit noisy at 3am...but you can walk to most places.

Overall enjoyed our weekend here, well priced hotel!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Last_one_standing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 47 in Wellington
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wellington

Address: 223 Cuba Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $87 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Wellington is a unique complex with an exceptional personality. Ideally located on the doorstep of all the restaurants, bars, shopping and attractions for which Wellington is renowned for. Just a 10 minute walk down vibrant Cuba Street to the Wellington waterfront and Te Papa, and only 20 minutes to the Wellington Railway Station and Westpac Stadium. Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus, this modern property within the CQ complex offers hotel suites and apartments that exude style with a relaxed ambience. The Quality Hotel suites boast some of the largest hotel rooms in Wellington (32m2) and are all equipped with kitchenettes and chic bathrooms. Our CQ Executive Apartments have floor to ceiling windows for abundant natural light and are split over two levels; perfect for families, groups or colleagues sharing. It's no wonder the Quality Hotel Wellington was named one of the top 9 Quality Hotels in the world by Choice International in 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing