We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Wellington

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staying in Wellington during the colder months means that you really look forward to the comfort of your hotel. The Quality hotel didn't disappoint on this. I had quite a spacious room with good views of the city. Additionally the hotel is situated on Cuba St which has some great restaurants nearby.

The only disappointment occurred on my second night when a rowdy bunch of people in the room above kept me up until about 2am.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear mblaze,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, your spacious room with good views of Wellington.
I have also taken note of your comment in regards to the noise coming from the room above, please feel free to contact the reception desk at anytime during the night and the team will be happy to assist; the reception desk is open 24 hours.
We look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    188
    81
    16
    9
See reviews for
131
163
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the med
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked a secret room online & when told which hotel it was our hearts sank a little. We needn't have worried. We got a fab room (461). It was huge & had a large terrace (communal) & heaps of extras (unlimited wireless, bathrobes, breakfast, etc). The lovation was perfect for us as we wanted to be near a choice of bars & restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have easy access to the terrace & pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear sallyw13,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, your room with the a large terrace on level 4.
We look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at your hotel for wedding preparations in early January. Apart from the shower inconveniently flooding the entire bathroom floor we enjoyed our stay there. We stayed in the twin queen room and this was the largest compared to many other hotels I have stayed in in the Wellington CBD region so that was great. We checked in quite late in the evening (After 11pm) and were greeted promptly by your friendly staff at the Cuba Street entrance. The carpark was easy to locate around the corner. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and checking in and out was a breeze. Please address the shower problem and you will be in my opinion one of the best quality, easily affordable hotels in Wellington. Thank you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear S A,

Thank you for your reviews of CQ Hotels Wellington. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your recent stay and dining experience. The team takes great pride in the service they deliver and I was pleased to share your comments with them.

I have taking note of your comments in regards to the showers facilities; your comment will help us to develop a future refurbishment plan which will ensure that our product remains at a consistent high standard. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

In the meantime, I have asked the reservation department to update your profile on our system to allocate a room with a bath for any of your future stay with us. I hope you will find this room type more convenience during your next stay with us.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at CQ Hotels Wellington very soon for the Wedding…

Kind regards

Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Yes, it was easy to find by car. Convenient parking place at the hotel, although 25$ /per night is not cheap. It is within walking distance of all major attractions.
The rooms are great as they are far bigger than the standard hotel room. They also have 2 queen-size beds.They even have an equipped kitchenette. The bathrooms have an Italian shower that overflows easily onto the bathroom floor.
It is located in Cuba street, and,we did not feel very comfortable when walking back at night (weekend) : some drunken youngsters, homeless people,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isis1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Isis1961,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the hotel standards and facilities.
I look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
221 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed there a Friday and Saturday night. The Friday night was heavily discounted but not the Saturday but overall good value. Car park at $25 a night was not cheap but secure and safe right under the hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious. Most rooms have two queen beds and simple cooking facilities. Located in Cuba Street is is surrounded by restaurants

Room Tip: Not a high traffic area but our room looked out on to the Wellington apartments and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear gemido,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the hotel standards and facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.

Kind regards

Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Quality Hotel is a great place to stay for a night in the City. I had a night in the city with a friend and we stayed in a room which was spacious and had two double beds. The room was modern and well decorated with a large bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. The hotel is surrounded by bars and restaurants so it is a great spot if you are wanting a night out. This is the second time I've stayed here and will definitely stay again as it is good value for the money and is in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripgirl680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear tripgirl680,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your continued loyalty to the hotel.
The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Olivier LACOUA
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent value for money, efficient service and very convenient location with parking. Staff were very helpful and the room had great facilities including a kitchenette. Next time we will stay for longer.

Room Tip: 5th floor was quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear SallyWG,
Thank you for your reviews of CQ Hotels Wellington. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The team takes great pride in the service they deliver and I was pleased to share your comments with them.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again soon.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wellington

Property: Quality Hotel Wellington
Address: 223 Cuba Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Wellington is a unique complex with an exceptional personality. Ideally located on the doorstep of all the restaurants, bars, shopping and attractions for which Wellington is renowned for. Just a 10 minute walk down vibrant Cuba Street to the Wellington waterfront and Te Papa, and only 20 minutes to the Wellington Railway Station and Westpac Stadium. Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus, this modern property within the CQ complex offers hotel suites and apartments that exude style with a relaxed ambience. The Quality Hotel suites boast some of the largest hotel rooms in Wellington (32m2) and are all equipped with kitchenettes and chic bathrooms. Our CQ Executive Apartments have floor to ceiling windows for abundant natural light and are split over two levels; perfect for families, groups or colleagues sharing. It's no wonder the Quality Hotel Wellington was named one of the top 9 Quality Hotels in the world by Choice International in 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quality Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing