We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Cuba Street browsing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good for Cuba Street browsing”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is well situated for browsing the Cuba Street area but if you are a bit older or unfit it is not the best location for using the bus. We took the airport bus to the hotel and it is quite a stiff walk from the nearest bus stop to the hotel. Likewise going into the city by bus from the hotel.
The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. After checking in we quickly realised we had some pretty noisy neighbours and asked for another room which was promptly dealt with. The new room was higher up and quiet. The decor of both the rooms we were checked into was a bit dated and I would not class this as a 4 and half star hotel.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Well priced, good food and excellent waiting staff. We asked for a taxi to be booked for an early morning pick up to the train station and the taxi fare was around $14.00.
All over a pleasant experience and as we booked it as a Secret Sale we cannot fault the price. If paying full price, however, I would expect more of a 4 and half star establishment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Good afternoon PeterDM_Sydney,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, the large room with kitchenette and decent sized bathroom. We look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    196
    82
    17
    9
See reviews for
136
168
17
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile


We chose to stay at CQ hotel as I had stayed previously while attending a conference and liked both the location and the size of the rooms when sharing with another person.

Our room was not ready when we arrived and so we stored our bags and headed off to shop. Bags still hadn't been delivered when we returned around 6 pm and we called reception and waited another half hour until we finally gave up and went down to see where they were....they were finally delivered after going down to reception. There was little to no apology or explanation of this inconvenience which I found a little strange!

We were happy with the room.  It was a good standard and very clean with 2 large double beds.  We were given a room (758) towards the rear of the hotel as requested.  Our room did have a corner of a curtain which was hanging down as the hook was broken which i told housekeeping about on Saturday morning but it wasn't repaired by the time we left on Sunday.

We made use of the spa for a soak after lots of walking and shopping both days which was great!

My previous stay was in a similar location in the hotel on a Sunday and Monday night and it was extremely quiet, unfortunately not so on this occasion.  There was some noise ( voices, shouting) from the street which we were expecting and prepared to accept - being central to restaurants and bars ant the weekend, but unfortunately there was also loud singing
(someone using a microphone) which carried clearly to our room both nights and woke and disturbed us between 11pm and 2am ish.......   (earplugs were insufficient to block the noise). There is a karaoke bar in the next block on Cuba St so I can only assume the 'singing' carried from there!

Armed with this knowledge I would probably not chose this location in the future on the weekends but would be happy to stay on a week night should I need a place to stay in Wellington.

One other thing that the front desk staff should be aware of....when we were leaving for the airport I requested a taxi which the girl on the desk ordered for us.  We then waited for up to 15 minutes out the front of the hotel - Cuba St ( where we were dropped off when we arrived) and no taxi arrived, back to desk to be told that taxis pick up at back of hotel and they would have to reorder another taxi as ours had been and gone!   This problem would be solved by staff checking guests knew where the taxi pick ups go from when ordering taxis......
   
All in all a good stay in Wellington but our hotel experience could have been improved by a bit more attention to detail and focused customer service. I wouldn't stay on Cuba St on the weekend again due to the noise factor but would consider it for a week night stay.

   

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank donandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi donandkaren,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your continued loyalty to the hotel.
I sincerely regret the disturbance that you experienced with the street noise. Our downtown location can mean extra street activity on weekends, as much as we try to contain it. On your next visit, we would be happy to assign one of our quieter, east-facing rooms upon request.
It is also very unfortunate to read that you experienced a disappointing level of service from the Reception desk and the Housekeeping department. We endeavour to provide an excellent customer experience for every guest and in this instance it seems not to have been the case. Your feedback has been forwarded to the Executive Assistant Manager and his team highlighting them the importance of high level of customer service and the need to minimize the possibility of this happening in the future. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I appreciate you sharing your feedback and concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

my partner and I stayed for just one night and it was brilliant! we purchased through an internet deal for a really good price....definitly 4 star furnishings in the rooms...also very spacious!!...spa baths were a nice surprise too!...would definitly go back... although the front desk could do with an upgrade...looking a bit tired...other than that all was good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coralie5156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear coralie5156,
Than you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the services provided by our team.
Thank you again for your positive comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in a near future.
Kind regards
Olivier LACOUA
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had stayed at Comfort Hotel Wellington, just next to this Quality Hotel Wellington,operated by same owner with common reception, before. To tell the truth, we felt that the Comfort is too small, even though all other things we are pleased, especially its location; Cuba Street and just opposite to famous restaurant "Logan Brown". So, this time, we decided to choose the Quality. This decision was right! We are assigned a room on the top floor with view. The room is very spacious, good taste interior and fully equipped.

The receptionist, she was actually not so much helpful and looked unhappy last time. However, this time, she was really helpful and offered us decent service with smile. This is also good to know people working here are happy and willingly.

We do love here and definitely to choose here for the next.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelyhoneybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, Sales and Marketing Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi RyokoYamada, thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the CQ Quality Hotel and that we exceeded your expectations from your last visit with us. I will ensure your feedback is passed onto our hotel staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Ania Truman - Sales and Marketing Manager for CQ Hotels Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

First time that I have stayed here, and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and size of the rooms. They were well maintained and cleanliness was of a high standard. Hotel facilities and staff were excellent, Location was also a bonus, as all of my appointments were within walking distance, and in future will ensure that I stay at this Hotel when travelling to Wellington on business. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarbyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear DarbyW,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, your room was well maintained and clean.
I will pass on your positive comments to our team; it will serve as encouragement to all of our employees as we endeavour to constantly improve the quality of our services. Thank you again
I look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I asked for a quiet room as I had read that some reviewers had had trouble with noise. We were given a very quiet room that was clean, stylish and spacious. I chose Quality on Cuba as it is close to some great eateries, an easy walk to Te Papa and an easy ride to the airport. The staff were professional and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hi kiwitraveller1978,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here before, great staff, lots free WiFi. Location great for walking and loads big spacious roomscafes nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hi Jeremy,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your continued loyalty to the hotel. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier LACOUA
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,852 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wellington

Property: Quality Hotel Wellington
Address: 223 Cuba Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Family Hotel in Wellington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Wellington is a unique complex with an exceptional personality. Ideally located on the doorstep of all the restaurants, bars, shopping and attractions for which Wellington is renowned for. Just a 10 minute walk down vibrant Cuba Street to the Wellington waterfront and Te Papa, and only 20 minutes to the Wellington Railway Station and Westpac Stadium. Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus, this modern property within the CQ complex offers hotel suites and apartments that exude style with a relaxed ambience. The Quality Hotel suites boast some of the largest hotel rooms in Wellington (32m2) and are all equipped with kitchenettes and chic bathrooms. Our CQ Executive Apartments have floor to ceiling windows for abundant natural light and are split over two levels; perfect for families, groups or colleagues sharing. It's no wonder the Quality Hotel Wellington was named one of the top 9 Quality Hotels in the world by Choice International in 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing