We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Wellington
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Situated in the best part of Wellington to go out and shop, the CQ Quality Hotel Wellington offers great value for money.Not that close to the CBD, but well worth the walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P_Lab_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 538 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

I booked to stay for 7 nights after staying here last year. Unfortunately was not the same. I am sure arriving from Singapore where the service is amazing did not help the situation, but have no such thing to say about the staff at this hotel. Very average. The room service staff were very rude and abrupt. The beds mattress was extremely soft and felt like a waterbed so had a bad nights sleep. Floor 7 facing the harbour is extremely warm in the afternoon and no airconditioning in the room. The cleaning staff seem to be in the corridor all day long making noise which was very annoying. When cleaning the room, we never had out toiletries replaced e.g shampoo, bubble bath. In fact we were left the previous persons half bottle to use. In this day and age to have no WiFi is ridiculous. When trying to connect to server very poor reception. It is sad the customer service is such a low priority, will be staying somewhere else on my return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Mon0503
Thank you for taking the time to tell me about your experience at the CQ Hotels Wellington.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this new occasion; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
It is very unfortunate to read that you received such disappointing level of service from our team. We endeavor to provide an excellent customer experience for every guest and in this instance it seems not to have been the case. Your feedback has been forwarded to the Head of Departments and their team highlighting them the importance of high level of customer service and the need to minimize the possibility of this happening in the future.
I have also taken careful note of your comment in regards to the Air Conditioning and WIFI access;
You will be happy to know that, as a result of multiple guest feedback like yours, we have implemented the following changes … Air Conditioning units will be installed before the end of August in the north side of the Quality hotel and WIFI will be installed in the entire CQ Complex before the end of the year.
Once again, I appreciate you sharing your concerns and I hope that you will present us with the opportunity to better serve you soon.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I hadn't enjoyed my first stay at the CQ Quality hotel (internet access issues leading to room changes, very slow for the hot water to come on, soft mattress leading to a very sore back). However I discussed these issues (and parking) with the reservations manager and they were all resolved and more.

I had a very pleasant stay, in a beautiful large room. The location is excellent with much of Wellington's heart a 5-15 min walk away.

Room Tip: Higher level floors seemed nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Doug O
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your second stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in room (suite?) 856, which was a deliberate choice for the large corner windows, views great on 8th floor. If windy, as it was for 2 nights, the windows clattered quite noisily. Bath is good, with a nice spa tub, kitchenette well done and useful. Very clean and well maintained.
The bedding is typical "hotel" and uncomfortable in my opinion: 2 sheets and a blanket in between - it messes up during the night and one has do re-do it to feel good in the crisp white linen.

Room Tip: as mentioned, floor 8 is great for the views, I had room 856, which is a suite (with kitchen facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radlust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Isn’t it great when a hotel delivers everything it promises? This one was a rewarding stay and is heartily recommended.

The rooms are spacious, modern and well equipped. Tastefully decorated and complete with a full kitchenette for those who choose to self cater.

If you don’t want to self cater then the location within Wellington’s excellent Cuba quarter will deliver you at the door step of the city’s finest eateries.

The gym is small but effective – mainly cardio based which is generally what you need on a holiday. The pool and spa are excellent BUT do tend to get really over populated as they are shared between the Quality Hotel, Comfort Hotel (pay 3 star get 4.5 star facilities!) and the private apartments attached to the building. So as to enhance the pleasure of all guests and reduce the density in the pool they really do need to look at restricting access and perhaps having ‘adults only’ hours to reduce the number of screaming children in a small pool! They could perhaps also look at restricting access to the boozy hordes from the neighbouring Comfort Hotel. If I’d bought a property in the apartments on the basis of pool/spa access I’d be having words with the Comfort/Quality management.

30 minutes free internet per day is a welcome relief from hotels that haven’t gotten with the program with regard to this absolute necessity that shouldn’t incur a charge!

The overpopulated pool is the only gripe. It is a really nice hotel, delivers solidly on its 4.5 star rating and is well worth your patronage.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We are locals, but wanted a family-friendly dinner out, and something a bit special too as it was a celebration. The new Prime Angus Steak deal at CQ Restaurant caught my eye and decided to give it a go. You don't normally think of hotel dining when you live in the city, but for style and value, there isn't much that comes even close. It was a great steak (well cooked), plus salad and a drink for $35, but it also comes with really tasty sauces to choose from and unlimited hand-cut fries.

My husband couldn't choose between two sauces and they kindly gave him both to try. They serve them on the side which is a bonus. Also, our 10 year old son is vegetarian, so he cleaned up the salad and chips. In fact, we certainly got our share of chips! He voted them the best he had in ages, but then, we all did. I think they use agria potatoes are the best in my view.

We had a great family night out and the service was very friendly and accommodating. I can see us coming back again. If you were staying the hotel, you really wouldn't have to look any further. Top deal CQ!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your positiive feedback jlolo - I am very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your dinner at CQ Restaurant. We recently introduced this new STEAK menu which is as you described very popular. Thank you very much again and I am looking forward to welcoming you and your family in a very near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I got a great price on a double queen room which was perfect for me and my band mate. Way more luxurious than we could normally do, but being close to the venue it suited us, and apart from a poor design concept in the shower stall meaning water tends to go everywhere (but a great shower, hot, plenty of pressure) the Quality Hotel is hard to fault.

With several cases of band equipment the generous room size really helped.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Quality Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Hi faderc
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular, your generous room size which can easily fit your band equipment. We look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 47 in Wellington
664 reviews
1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Wellington

Address: 223 Cuba Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#10 Business Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $104 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quality Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Wellington is a unique complex with an exceptional personality. Ideally located on the doorstep of all the restaurants, bars, shopping and attractions for which Wellington is renowned for. Just a 10 minute walk down vibrant Cuba Street to the Wellington waterfront and Te Papa, and only 20 minutes to the Wellington Railway Station and Westpac Stadium. Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus, this modern property within the CQ complex offers hotel suites and apartments that exude style with a relaxed ambience. The Quality Hotel suites boast some of the largest hotel rooms in Wellington (32m2) and are all equipped with kitchenettes and chic bathrooms. Our CQ Executive Apartments have floor to ceiling windows for abundant natural light and are split over two levels; perfect for families, groups or colleagues sharing. It's no wonder the Quality Hotel Wellington was named one of the top 9 Quality Hotels in the world by Choice International in 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing