We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, luxurious apartment in quiet, central location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2009

SUMMARY - The garden suite is very charming and located in a pleasant, quiet residential neighbourhood within walking distance of central Wellington.

FACILITIES - The garden suite has a large double room, a large bathroom with bath tub and shower; a reasonably sized kitchen/lounge area. Cooking facilities included hobs, microwave and mini-grill. SkyTV and free WiFi available. Small, private garden with outdoor table accessed via French windows. Off street parking available.

STANDARD - Lovely decoration, charming architecture and design. Felt very homely. Only minor comment is that although WiFi is free, you are given a little note asking you not to use it too much which feels bizarre... a bit like asking guests not to shower for too long or flush the toilet too often!

Highly recommended if visiting Wellington.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2009

This is a wonderful little B&B which feels more like a boutique hotel. We were made very welcome and the breakfast was fantastic (see photo). We stayed in the studio which was small, but perfectly appointed, with everything you might need. The design is beautiful and tasteful, making it a lovely place to relax. Austinvilla is in a quiet area, but a short walk down the hill lands you right in the middle of everything. The only person I wouldn't recommend Austinvilla to would be my grannie, as the steps up to the house would be a challenge.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

My partner Sebastian and I used the Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast as a base for our week-long stay in Wellington to visit family and friends - and what a great base it was.

Located about five minutes walk from the heart of Wellington's restaurant and bar scene, the guesthouse is ideally located. It's on a short, but steep, hill, which may be useful to note for some people who are not so mobile (but then again most of Wellington's streets are steep given the geology of the place). I totally agree with the comments about the echoes of San Francisco as the guesthouse has a relaxed, charming feel to it.

We stayed in the self-contained garden flat, which is furnished elegantly in a clean, modern, but comfortable style, making great use of the space. The flat was also extremely clean and tidy (important for a neat freak like me!). Wellington-based friends who visited the guesthouse all commented on the standard of decor and noted it for recommendation to other visitors. It's worth mentioning that the flat was also well-appointed for the self-catering option, which we'd selected.

Zarli was an excellent host and made us feel very welcome. He was relaxed and non-intrusive, checking in from time to time to make sure everything was OK, which it invariably was.

We would happily recommend the Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast to anyone who wants an elegant and relaxing experience in a excellent location.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We spent 3 nights in Austinvilla in January 2009 while in Wellington visiting friends. We stayed in the self contained garden suite. Located a short walk from the city and oriental bay (the harbour) - this is a great place to stay in Wellington. It is a wonderful old Victorian wooden house with character and the rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Austinvilla is a lovely B&B in the heart of Wellington. A great selection of bars and restaurants are all reached within a 5/10 minute walk and the Te Papa museum and harbour are only a few minutes on from that.

We had a self contained one bedroom apartment which had it's own entrance from a small garden, also for our use. It was spotlessly clean and had lovely furnishings - with a very nice, comfy bed. Breakfast was continental and left for us in the kitchen each morning, which meant that we could get up at our leisure. Zarli, our host, was very welcoming and gave us great tips on places to go - including Victoria Peak (a 5 min drive from Austinvilla) which was fantastic at sunset and had great views of Wellington. Would definitely stay here again if ever back in Wellington.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Austinvilla is a gem of a boutique B&B in Wellington which is located a perfect distance away from the hub-hub of downtown and a short (but strenuous uphill) walk from the summit of Mt Victoria. Gorgeous, stylish furnishings, a beautiful view, delicious breakfast and a serene atmosphere make it a great choice for a romantic getaway. We stayed for only 2 nights but wished we could have spent a week there.
Our only critique is that we felt it lacked the warmth we encountered at all the other small B&B's we stayed at during our 3-week long trip across New Zealand. As soon as we arrived, we were given quite a long induction on the dos & don'ts we had to follow. I understand that the owners want to retain their privacy but they could have communicated the "rules" to us in a less repetitive, more friendly way. At NZ$ 210 per night, we were paying enough not to need to feel like we were infringing on someone else's space.
Still I'd recommend this B&B very highly - its the perfect base to explore the vibrant city of Wellington from.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chloe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We hadn't found the Austinvilla on Trip Advisor so were flying blind, but we were absolutely not sorry to have flown there. We were delighted by every aspect of this B and B apartment, from the location (a bit away from the crush of Wellington's vibrant downtown "scene", but only a short walk apart), to the accomodating, knowledgeable hosts, to the lovely, sequestered nook that was the studio apartment we came to think of as "ours". The Austinvilla is reminiscent of the best of a San Francisco enclave, almost a tree house in atmosphere, but right up the hill from some wonderful, funky restaurants, and a brisk, even more uphill climb to Mt. Victoria. The offstreet parking was a special boon in the city, so we could access our car if we wanted, but didn't have to, really, since everything was within easy distance. We loved our host's restaurant recommendation ("Hazel's") and appreciated his orienting us on the city map when we arrived, exhausted from a challenging arrival drive through the mountains. We'd love to go back -- tomorrow!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,642 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austinvilla Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Austin Street | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $117 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of Mt Victoria's elegant turn-of-the-century villas with its leafy garden setting and historic residential neighbourhood, Austinvilla B&B offers you the charming character and relaxed comfort of a real home. No need to share facilities here as our two fully-equipped, self-contained apartments let you enjoy the peace and privacy of your own space to unwind in. Superbly located just minutes walk from the vibrant central city precinct and local attractions, Austinvilla is your perfect base from which to explore Wellington. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing