We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, noisy and good for rugby!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Public Bar & Eatery

Public Bar & Eatery
Ranked #324 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are the essence of Wellington hospitality. We serve a wide variety of amazing cocktails, wines, and micro brews. Our friendly staff will ensure you have the best 'bar / eatery' experience, here at  [PUBLIC.] Public caters for all variety of needs including; an outdoor area with a toasty gas fireplace, a private function space catering for groups of up to 50, a relaxed dining area featuring comfortable booths which border the dance floor when the beat takes over. Don’t take our word for it though.  Come and enjoy brunch, lunch, dinner or a snack with any one of our wide selection of beverage options.
Renwick, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun, noisy and good for rugby!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great to have this crossbreed of pub/bar. Lots of screens for the rugby, nice wines and fun atmosphere. Lots of different spaces. Probably a good place to meet people - if ya get what I mean. Definitely one to go back to.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food in a bar setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

So we has a grabone voucher which was for $35 for Two Wakanui Grain Fed Sirloin Dinner Mains with Creamed Leeks, Hand-Cut Steak Fries & Red Wine Jus & Two Glasses of Kopiko Bay Pinot Noir. And can I just tell you how accurate the picture on the deal was for this but also how very delicious everything was- the sirloin cooked accdg to our liking, the fries were more like wedges (which was good as not a fan of fries) and when we asked for garlic aioli they gave us 1 each (no charge). We also ordered an entree of the steamed lip mussels for $14 which we just can't rave enough about! The mussels were of good succelent size & was served with tomato based sauce and there was at least more than 8 in 1 serving - highly recommended! Great food in this place which most people probably don't eat at as it has more of a bar/pub atmosphere which might put some off. Good thibg we tried and will definitely be back - evem if just for the mussels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank enzedwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good music and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went on a Friday night and were entertained by the 'Beat Girls' i think. The barstaff were very smiley and looked like they were having fun. We went back the next day and had brunch and it was delicous. Staff were not overly attentive, which was a let down.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food ans service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Courtney Place is full of choices but this pub stood out. Extremely clean, fantastic service and wonderful food. Dropped in for lunch. Hubby Had the $15. Pie Spx with free glass of (very nice) house wine. I had the vege frittata. Delicious! Staff friendly and helpfull. Complimentary Water with ice and lemon! (Usually tap water these days)!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvaduckMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visby, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

After 3 months around new Zealand This is one of the best places Ive been too.
Great service and nice food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeaEngelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public Bar & Eatery also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Public Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing