We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect opportunity for a short lunch break”
Review of Wasabi Sushi

Wasabi Sushi
Ranked #185 of 917 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A perfect opportunity for a short lunch break”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We attended a language School not far from the Cuba Street. We had only little time for our lunch and therefore the Wasabi Sushi was a good Location. We went there every second day. The Sushi is quite delicous, always fresh and a good variety. The restaurant is big enough, we found always a seat. We had Sav with the Sushi. The temperature of the wine was perfect.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZ_pingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
435 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“average Sushi place”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

• Simple Sushi place on Cuba Street
• Fish quality is OK, but just average
• Friendly service staff
• Cheap prices
• Conclusion: average Sushi place, but OK for a quick lunch stop

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can not fault technique and presentation, but need work on seasoning.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The nigri are done well and delicious. The fish to rice ratio is a little lower than my preference and the cut could be a little more generous. All other varieties are done well and you can feel the rice is cooked well as it is the heart of the art of sushi.

The major drawback/issue I have is the after meal or morning after thirst/sore throat and the only thing I can pin it down to is the way the fish has been seasoned, as a spike in saltiness will be detected in the rice immediately. This happened in both occasions when we had our dinner there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty fun!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Was a little nervous eating here on my own.. once I knew how to proceed it was great, really tasty sushi (which is all I want!) and plenty of variety. Next time I am in Wellington I shall return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenMavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply love Wasabi Sushi!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is my favourite sushi place in the whole city. It is simple, clean, quick, inexpensive and last but not least the sushi is absolutely delicious. My partner and I go at least once every weekend and are never disappointed. The service is great, staff are nice, friendly and FAST. Wasabi Sushi deserves 5 stars +.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IviNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Sushi also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wasabi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing