We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite sushi in Wellington” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wasabi Sushi

Wasabi Sushi
Ranked #190 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Our favourite sushi in Wellington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We often eat at Wasabi Sushi. The sushi is good and they regularly have new or special plates. They have a high chair and are as accommodating as possible but I recommend going at quieter times if you have a little one as there isn't a lot of room when the place is full. The staff are lovely.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiMumOfOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent,inexpensive but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's an OK place. The service is good and the place looks clean and pleasant. Yet, the sushi is far from impressive - just the really basic stuff with way more rice than fish. It's quite cheap, but I am not sure if that makes it a good value option for a sushi experience in Wellington..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnFowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I'm generally vegetarian but I make an exception at times when it comes to trying new things I don't think that you should ever hold back so when we visited we tried out some of the fish also. Both the vegetarian selection (which is a good size) and the seafood are very tasty. We both tried Row here for the first time and enjoyed it. The service was really good and the price was very cheap and we ate alot! The sushi train is very cool.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to grab a sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

So much variety to grab as you watch your sushi slide by. Just grab what you want. It's a very cheap but the quality is not.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rabbzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I definetly will come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

This sushi restaurant located on Cuba street is very very good. The whole idea of a sushi train was new for me, and I'm very happy that I tried it for the first time at this place. Sushi was good, There was heaps of variety and prices are reasonable. We paid approx NZD 40 for two of us (including beer). Every plate has between 2-6 (depending on size) sushi rolls.

Very nice place.. Highly recommended for your next visit to Wellington.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SouCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Sushi also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Wasabi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing