We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two or even three stars of Michelin's - hence a TOP RESTAURANT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House Restaurant - CLOSED

The White House Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is an exciting and stylish new restaurant led by well-known and award-winning Chef, Paul Hoather. The impeccable style of this stunning restaurant showcases the menu which is the very best and the freshest seafood and local produce. It's Chef Paul's creativity, his unparalleled experience, and his passion for exceptionally fine food that make every meal an experience par excellence.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Two or even three stars of Michelin's - hence a TOP RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The White House was our choice of New Year's Eve of 2012: Just great! The best restaurant that we've experienced this time in New Zealand.
Extremly well presented meals and very nicely combined variations of tastes. In best French tradition. Your palate gets spoiled.
Our friendly waiter was a young man with a good sense of humour. Service has been perfect.
Overlooking the bay the restaurant offers excellent views and makes you feel at ease.
As they say in the famous Michelin Guide (for exceptionally good restaurants in France): worth a detour!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BURGWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    42
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A special place for an intimate meal or larger celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband had a major birthday last night and we shared it with 18 special family members and friends at a memorable dinner. Every menu choice was beautifully cooked and presented, and the service was impeccable. For newcomers to The White House, seriously consider the crab ravioli, scallop or pork belly starter and the duck or lamb rack main. There is small but varied selection of desserts, and even the sorbet is specially presented. Expensive, but well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Recently we had the pleasure of dining at the White House, what a wonderful evening we had, wonderful yummy food and great service, compliments to the chef which made us feel extra special by coming out to meet us!
All the courses were exceptionally tastey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, small glasses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Overlooking the bay on the waterfront with excellent views. Clearly very popular and booking required. Very attentive staff (some may find a little overbearing). Each course and wine given a full desciption at the table. Some 'humerous' touches to the food. Wonderful combinations and flavours.
The only negatives were (if any) slightly small volumes of accompanying wine and gaps between courses (the reason given - a wedding upstairs).
I could not fault the food but would suggest more and more relaxed staff would have made a better and complete experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skianddive_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Continues to delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I do not know why they are not advertising their vegetarian degustation menu online - it's sensational. Staff is impeccable without being stiff or arrogant. The wine list has some nice surprises. I would not hesitate to recommend to my best friend, and will be back on my next trip to Wellington.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RuaMaRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing