We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediterranean Food Warehouse review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Foods - Newtown -Trattoria & Deli

Mediterranean Foods - Newtown -Trattoria & Deli
Ranked #226 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $14 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mediterranean Foods offers a wide-range of imported goods including a wide range of pasta, wine, cheeses, meats and so much more. Along with this, 2016 marks an exciting year for Mediterranean Foods. Not only does the business have a fresh new look, but after 16 years the original Newtown Warehouse and Pizzeria has undergone major renovations. Using the term Trattoria (casual neighbourhood restaurant) the menu now includes fantastic regional Italian dishes, a bar, and of course the much loved wood - fired pizza.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Food Warehouse review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Pizza is good very tasty and cooked the old fashioned way. Pasta is great. Service is awesome and staff are very helpful and friendly this place is highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Romil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    32
    14
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slice of Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want pizza that has an authentic feel to it, then this is the place to go. They offer a diverse menu with lots of options including fresh pasta and gelato. It's perfect for sitting down and enjoying a meal with friends or family. With so many flavours of pizza, it's difficult to pick a favourite. They also offer cooking classes and have catering options. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mika89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My partner and I recently got a grab one voucher for pizza here as I had been wanting to try this place out since moving here. I was glad that I got half price vouchers when we got our pizzas. We have home made ones every sunday and were interested to see how nice these would be. We were very unimpressed. We ordered on chicken pizza and a half and half which had half salmon and half chorizo. What most shocked me was how little was on these - dont get my wrong the bases and cheese were delicious but really one or two little pieces of sausage or salmon per slice - maybe Im cheap but if I was paying full price for these I would expect more. We probably wont be returning on that basis.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aimz2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious wood fired pizza and a relaxed place to enjoy a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The pizza's really are delicious, there are a wide range of authentic Italian flavours and sitting at tables amidst the food imported from Italy it's tempting to take home some extra ingredients for cooking another day. Service was very informal but fun and relaxed, with a family atmosphere rather than sophisticated dining.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you love Italian....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Good pizza, not the best in town (see Napoli Pizzeria) but way better than the general standard in NZ, we got 2 pizzas and drinks for just over $40. Great foods imported from Italy. Including a selection of procutto ( yum) mozerella pastas and wines. We also picked up a pasta drying rack for $20, which we have already used. Well worth the visit. Also there are other branches in Paraparamu and elsewhere in Welly, they have a website.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean Foods - Newtown -Trattoria & Deli also viewed

Greater Wellington, North Island
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Mediterranean Foods - Newtown -Trattoria & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing