We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

The Original Thai Restaurant
Ranked #167 of 908 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Zealand
Level Contributor
251 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Service with a smile, great food, fresh, cheap, all the good things. Can't ask for anything more and great to have a restaurant of this quality open at nights in Island Bay

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We have been here on several occasions now both as a family and for parties. We have always had the best service and great food. The kids love the money bags and we enjoy many dishes here too. Highly recommended. Probably the best Thai in Wellington.

Helpful?
Thank RTJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We went with old friends without the kids.
Had a fantastic meal.
We had all the starters between us which were excellent.
satay, money bags, ribs, curry puffs, spring rolls.
each of us had a different main and we shared.
bring your own wine, so went over the road to New World and bought a six pack of beer and a bottle of white wine.
easy atmosphere service laid back but attentive.
great value for money will definitely go back again perhaps with movies at the Empire down the road.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mckeeWTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An old favorite still doing above average Thai - BYO drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Had a good quick dinner last night. The food came quickly when we said we were in a hurry and it was all quite good. My favorite was the chiil fish fillets but the red curry was awesome too. This place is family run and probably a but understaffed on a busy night but it is BYO (very old school!) - you CANT actually buy booze here but corkage is only 4 bucks. This is good thai if you are in the area - although I wouldnt make a special trip from town to go there.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellyenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“ok but just a thai restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

ok but just a thai restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Thai Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Original Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing