We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”
Review of Satay Village

Satay Village
Ranked #219 of 931 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for kids”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of my pet peeves about eating out is the childrens menu. It's always processed junk: chicken nuggets, hamburger, etc. So I was immediately pleased this place just served Malaysian food.

With four little kids, we were delighted by how fast the food came out, The food was awesome, and I mean awesome, our kids left nothing, and the price was so cheap.

We will be back again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordonfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty & Delicious”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stumbled across this place by accident & very glad we did. Although the place is small & basic, the food is simply beautiful, the service is quick & the staff very polite. Excellent value for superb Malaysian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeannaD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and Cheap”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I don't care what anyone says this has to be one of my favourite restaurants in Wellington. Tasty food and very affordable. I'm a regular so I can't say I've ever had a bad experience with service, maybe the odd shy waitress but that's really nothing to complain about. Satay Village is consistent so you know what you're in for. If it's not up to par, don't be afraid to let them know.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arihia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“My favourite cheap and cheerful!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great food, exceptional value and a classic Malaysian, I wouldn't go any further than Satay Village, it's been my favourite "cheap and cheerful" for the past 12 years! Great table service but the owner needs to smile and be a little more accommodating!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality, cheap Asian cafe style food”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Have visited a number of times and always get good quality food for cheap prices. Prefer the setting over similar and comparable restaurants, such as The Oaks. Good value for money, and handy BYO option too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satay Village also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Satay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing