We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of One Red Dog

One Red Dog
Ranked #132 of 911 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a business meal, the 2 pizzas ordered were great and arrived in 15 minutes. good selection of beers and friendly staff.
Nice place for a casual meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelalotnzTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    126
    71
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Only in wellington for the day, we walked the waterfront and found one red dog had a warm feel to it so we thought we would stay for lunch, Staff very friendly, meals came out in great time, great for kids, they brought pencils out for the kids. meals we so tastey, when it came to paying staff were so friendly offering to call a taxi. would go back in a flash, couldnt speak high enough of this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 44Jessicajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yup, just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Family visit. We had the seafood pasta, which was tasty; spinach salad, which was okay, and the kids had the ubiquitous Hawaiin pizza. The food was okay, but the service really brought the visit back down. The waitress was disinterested, unsure of what she was doing and a really poor ambassador for One Red Dog. More work needed front of house team!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

ORD is a great venue for pizza and a beer, which is exactly what a colleague and I were looking for last week - and they didn't disappoint. The great thing is that you can get a group together and share each others' meals, which is usually an unacceptable social convention. Our pizzas were excellent and accompanied by beer from the typical extensive Wellington beer range (why don't restaurants in Auckland provide a similar choice beyond the typical Lion/DB fare?).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BulaHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must miss!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

One would expect to pay top dollar for a top glass of wine at a 4-5 star restaurant - $14.00 for what was termed a large glass (rather than the option of a medium glass!) was shocking to say the least. I was starving so wolfed my meal down - but over all was sadly VERY lack-lustre with our waiting staff clearly preferring to be anywhere but serving! Crossing this one off of the 'must take friends to' or recommend. Disappointing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Red Dog also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to One Red Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing