We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like mama used to make”
Review of Nicolini's

Nicolini's
Ranked #52 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like mama used to make”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

If I had an Italian mama, this would be the food she would have used to make. I had this place recommended to me by a Wellington-based flight steward who said it was good quality and great value. I can't really argue. I did something I never do at an Italian restaurant - I ordered lasagne. I did it guessing it was the food that the air crews would order and love. Spot on! It was one of the best lasagna's I had ever tasted. Atmosphere wise it was a bit cramped and a bit bitsy (I sat out in the back room) and the service a bit patchy but I would go there if I lived in Wellington and was looking for a good meal before going out to a movie or bar hopping, which is well-suited to its Courtney Place location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    65
    21
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Had me from the 1st bite”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was wandering along this street, amidst noisy busy bars found this quieter little place, felt comfortable from the moment of entry, what i found was a small yet precious gem, the food truly was superb, home cooked all fresh produce and served happily by attentive staff, commended the chef via waitress and Fabrizio came out to chat, great guy very proud of his restaurant and his food said it all the best i have ever had his father makes the sauces well done will always come back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royaashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Italian Restaurant in the Centre of Wellington”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We wanted to take our friends out for a meal while in Wellington and they said one of their favourite places is Nicolini's. It was a good choice! Everything was delicious and the chocolate mousse at the end was amazing! Good value for money with the mains being about $20, entrees about $13 and desserts $13. The service was really great, the staff really attentive. Only minor moan is that if you are wanting a quiet romantic little place this isn't it as it is quite noisy. We watched one couple come in sit down then say to the wait staff, no we aren't staying its too noisy. But we didn't mind. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Truly romantic”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had my one year anniversary here, and it was absolutely romantic. My partner used to come here often, so he knew his way around the place, and asked for us to be seated in "the back section" which was separated from the main restaurant area in this quiet little "indoor courtyard" out the back. There was subtle Italian music playing in the background, candle light..it was wonderful. Although I don't usually dine out at places that are a bit out of my price range, this place was definitely worth it. I had the Lasagna al ragu ($19.50) which was amazing, and which my partner exclaimed had increased in size since he last went. He had the Penne chicken which he said was rich and full of flavor. The calamari was also delicious. I would definitely come here again once my financial status allows it :P

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdDovahkiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Small restaurant that obviously focuses on making excellent food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I always try to find at least one great Italian restaurant in all the cities we visit. Nicolini's did not fail us. We ordered one of e daily specials, a prawn appetizer, a pasta dish then the daily special gelato. Everything was absolutely delicious! Anyone looking for great Italian in Wellington should definitely visit here, but make reservations because it is a very small restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicolini's also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Nicolini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing