We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specialty cocktails perfected!”
Review of Matterhorn

Matterhorn
Ranked #78 of 917 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Setting the benchmark for the finest and freshest of New Zealand’s music, dining, service, drink design and culture, Matterhorn gives it to you seven ways in seven days, indoors, outdoors, fireside; it is a regular's restaurant, cocktail bar and café, where attitude is most certainly valued over attire.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Specialty cocktails perfected!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I dropped in here on a whim for a drink before dinner, and so glad we did. Their cocktail list is top notch. The bartender gave us great drink recs from the menu. Restaurant has a great chill vibe. Would definitely recommend for anyone interested in having a quality cocktail!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    130
    56
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Must have a cocktail!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We read through the interesting cocklist menu (list, does not do it justice) & after speaking to the staff member serving us he influenced me to try something else. Very glad he did, the experience of watching him make these was well worth the price & it was a 5-10minute show. Flames poured between jugs & egg whites are not as scary in a cocktail as first thought.
The service was great, really felt like they enjoyed their job & welcomed customers. Will be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CollRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Primo place always something going on, live gigs great service busy atmosphere. I find it hard to believe the negative reviews, however only those who work and appreciate great hospo would understand how coo this place is

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food great value”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

$45 for the chefs to choose what you receive was great value! The whole meal was delivered as sharing plates so it made for a really nice change to your typical a la carte menu. The only downside was the scales that were left on the whole snapper we were served! Service was prompt but we had about 3 different servers over the meal - it would have been nice to have the same one throughout. They also struggled to recommend a wine match for the snapper but did offer to get someone who would be better able to recommend a wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lerak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever.................!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stopped by Matterhorn for cocktails one evening. Our party of 6 swiftly became a party of 5 after it took half an hour to make a few cocktails!! We were told it would be a 15 minute wait when we ordered. Which was strange given that there place was empty (I wonder why???). When one of our party cancelled their cocktail we were told it would be done straight away. I am wondering whether if we had all cancelled our cocktails they would have arrived quicker. They didn't. It took another 15 minutes of waiting. The whole experience left quite a bitter taste in my mouth. As did th cocktail. Certainly wasn't worth waiting 30 minutes for.........

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnycash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Matterhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing