We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocktails and tapas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matterhorn

Matterhorn
Ranked #71 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Setting the benchmark for the finest and freshest of New Zealand’s music, dining, service, drink design and culture, Matterhorn gives it to you seven ways in seven days, indoors, outdoors, fireside; it is a regular's restaurant, cocktail bar and café, where attitude is most certainly valued over attire.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cocktails and tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Awsome cocktails and tapas menu. Steak was good too. Good service. Service person had good menu knowledge and understanding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelFreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    130
    56
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LB at Matterhorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very tasty food well presented. Have said one of the best meals but not THE best. (We are very spoiled in Wellington for great food and places like Havana Bar and Hummingbird do these sort of meals well too.) But Matterhorn is always excellent and definitely one of the top places you can go to. Great buzzy atmosphere even when it's early.
Had a selection of small platters that were very delicious and allowed us to have a lot of flavours rather than one big meal. Service was good even though it was a busy night. We started next to a rather noisy couple but when we quietly asked if we could be put elsewhere, the waiter was very accommodating. All in all a very pleasant eating-out experience - and we were able to eat in a leisurely way and still be out for a theatre visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwi255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shocking Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Although the food was acceptable, the overall experience of eating in this overrated restaurant was so negative I surely won't be back. My best advice would be avoid at all cost!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Khaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sophisticated fun and delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Consistently excellent food and great service.
Bit pricy but worth it for a special night.
Waiting in the narrow bar can be difficult as hard to find a space when busy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still talking about this special restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We visited with a German friend as this restaurant was recommended in her guide book. We were not disappointed! Yes, it is a little dark in the main restaurant for us 'oldies' but that would certainly not put us off visiting again. This was a memorable dining experience for us all and at sensible prices. The chefs produce exceptional food and the bar/restaurant staff are just right. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Matterhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing