We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Maranui Surf Lifesaving Cafe
Ranked #18 of 908 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
574 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Have been here many times. The location is great overlooking the beach and it is always busy. The food is reasonably priced and creative. Good selection too. Nice to sit outside on a fine day and you might have to share your table with others, but that's ok too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    139
    37
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always busy and thats because its good”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I have always loved the place. But I try to go when its not crazy busy as it does get big lines. I love the window seats and beach views. Love the salads and amazing old style milkshake. Really is a favorite food spot.

Helpful?
Thank alongcommute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice busy cafe”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice busy café at the beach. Great atmosphere, good service.

Nice coffees, muffin and chips.

It’s a very busy café, we visited on a Sunday afternoon and there was a wait.

Also, even though it’s a seaside café if you’re not at a table by the window, you won’t really have a view.

But it was nice, people seemed happy there, and we will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yippopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location and vibe”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Quick breakfast
Good value ($16 full breakfast incl. flat white)
Nice ambiance
Friendly staff
Well known by taxis

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank martinfromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A trip along the coast”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A friend recommended this place to us. I wish we had known about it before our disastrous lunch at Arthur's in Wellington.
The outside gives very little clue to the little gem inside.
As you climb the stairs there are fabulous old photos on the walls of past lifeguards. The interior is just wonderful, a bit 1950's American style diner. Great tables and chairs and the most amazing vista of Lyalls beach with the surfers waiting for waves and many a plane landing to the left of the beach at Wellington airport.
We just ordered drinks but the food that was coming out of the kitchen looked great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maranui Surf Lifesaving Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Maranui Surf Lifesaving Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing