We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - and good food”

Maranui Surf Lifesaving Cafe
Ranked #12 of 938 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location - and good food”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I visited here with a large group on several occasions and have always been impressed. The counter food looks great, the menu has many options and the coffee is great. Of course the best thing is the view!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BurntK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    143
    37
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Maranui is a go to place for me, always lively and the staff are friendly. Food is always tasty and quick in relation o how busy it always is. Breakfast menu is good and always having me leaving satisfied. If you want somewhere to go that is easy this is he place!

Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and great food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place gets packed at the weekends, and with good reason. The food is good quality and value. The eggs benedict and the English breakfasts are of good quality and despite how busy the place gets the staff always remain friendly and efficient. The site is the top floor of a genuine surf life saving club which gives the place a good vibe. You can't beat the views on a good day...

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Restraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of the best cafes in Wellington”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It is really unfair to rate this cafe "fair" simply because it always has long queues, is bustling and noisy! For goodness sake, that is because the food is great, the views are superb, the staff are delightful (and soooo polite and cheerful despite the pressures of the numbers clamouring to enter) and the atmosphere electric. It is a wonderful experience not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tandemflyer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and service but really claustrophobically busy and noisy”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just got back from brunch at maranui in Lyall Bay. I had read the reviews and thought why haven't I been there before so decided to head down as I woke up hungry. Arrived at 11.30am and boy was it packed. So much so, there was a queue forming at the door but we were seated after 5 minutes which was great. We were seated at a high table that was quickly filled with another group of 4 which means I was soo squashed against the wall. They were moved after 10 minutes but another group of 3 were quickly seated which was quite irritating. The noise was immense and generally was not relaxed at all during the brunch. The service was amazing and the food was great - I chose the victory brekkie and my fiancé had the big breakfast- everything was gorgeous and the attention to detail I could taste. Would love to go back on a weekday and see what it's like as we ate and quickly hurried out to get some fresh air and peace and quiet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaMaycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maranui Surf Lifesaving Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Maranui Surf Lifesaving Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing