We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are hungry then Ok”

KK Malaysian Restaurant
Ranked #144 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Northants
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you are hungry then Ok”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Portions sizes are generous, food is Ok but only just, however cheap. Muscle starter was a bit tasteless, Chicken sambal was so sweet and not at all spicy even though I asked for it to be hot. I won't order that again. I might try it again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank O_Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    60
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful. Enormously popular.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I am perhaps not the best person to review Malaysian cuisine as I have never been a big fan, but this is an enormously popular Wellington restaurant. The meals are cheap and delicious and judging by the constant stream of patrons either having takeaways or queuing up for a table, many people seek this restaurant out for a great meal. The restaurant is small so best to reserve a table if you want to dine here - I would recommend a table towards the back. Our table was by the door and it was as opening and closing the whole time we were there didn't enhance the dining experience. My favourite were the Spring Rolls for an entrée ($6) but the chicken wings ($6) were also fantastic. My main was the Sin Chew Mee Hoon ($10) and could have feed 2 or 3.

Staff were efficient and with the volume of diners there was little time to be anything else.

If you love Malaysian cuisine at a very reasonable price, in a great location (just off Cuba street) then join the crowd and dine here. Not licensed - and I didn't see anyone else bringing their wine.

Others can judge the authenticity of the food, but I'll go with the crowds and wholeheartedly recommend KK.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Meals”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

WOW!! My partner and I went here on my birthday after reading a recommendation and we were blown away. Ordered the mi goreng, prawn sambal, chicken curry and a couple of drinks- Came to about $40. The meals were huge, we had so many left overs between the two of us. My partner had recently been to thailand and said it tasted on par with the street food he had there.
Small place, very busy, but that can only be expected after tasting the food- we will be back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Based on good reviews both on trip advisor and other sources I decided to try out this place for myself. I went there for lunch and had sweet and sour won tons with rice. The staff were very pleasant and provided prompt service. The food was freshly cooked, tasty and excellent value for money. I would recommend this place for anyone on a budget, or anyone who enjoys good food at a good price.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nrjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Good Cheap Eat but not Authentic - it is Malaysian fast food”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant has stood the test of time. It continues to be popular because it remains a very cheap eating place which is small, cramped and where you rush through your meal and go. The best Malaysian in Wellington - I do not think so. Traditional - I do not think so. If you are looking for a cheap Malaysian fast food meal in a fast turn over restaurant then it will suit you, as that is what KK is all about.

Some of the dishes are vaguely authentic, but the spices used and the preparation required is lacking as befits the price point that KK caters for. Surely, other than cheapness, this should be the best basis for judging the food. The food rolls out in an instant which is definitely not a good sign for obvious reasons unless you are an 'eat and rush' diner. Some dishes are heavily modified both as to what the dish should be like and to suit an instantly gratefied Kiwi palate. If you have eaten real Malaysian food either in Singapore or Malaysia (or even in New Zealand) you risk being disappointed. This starts with the basic roti which should be prepared on the premises. Some dishes are nonya or peranakan derived and where the spices are the key, but KK provides a non authentic version that is just cheap and cheerful, but not what could be expected. Even the cheap hawker stalls in Singapore deliver great peranakan dishes.

KK does not serve alcohol, even Tiger beer and is not BYO. It fits a niche in the cheap curry market, and there is a place for that, but it is not the best Malaysian food and there is much more authentic and better Malaysian offerings in Wellington for a fraction more in price - try either the nearby Rasa or the Istana Malaysia in Courtenay quarter, where the spices are a priority creating a genuine dish, there is greater menu choice, the rotis and doshi are just "as in Malaysia" and the eating experience will be a pleasure. Extend your horizons beyond price, enjoy a beer and still have money in your pocket.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KK Malaysian Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to KK Malaysian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing