We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Tucka and reasonably priced beverages”

The Green Parrot Cafe
Ranked #252 of 908 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Good Tucka and reasonably priced beverages”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Everytime I go to Wellington I always try to include a meal at the Green Parrot. The Service is friendly, meals huge and the beverages most reasonable. I have been visiting the Green Parrot now since 1985 and the experience is always the same. I have never had a dud meal. The Whitebait meal when it is in season is excellent value and the Bluff oysters are to die for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OckJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    72
    27
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“A simple traditional New Zealand restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This well established great little Wellington restaurant has been one of our family favorites for three generations now! It has delivered great consistent food, service and value since 1926! The formula is really simple, wholesome simple, fresh food cooked to perfection coupled with a friendly atmostsphere to match all supported with great service. There menu while simple offers a wide range of traditional New Zealand fare. Personal favorites we can highly recommend, the fresh Tarakihi crumbed fish fillet and the Wiener schnitzel, superb! A what's more the opening hours of the restaurant being 5:00 pm till late ( or more accurately early, lol) means that it is a great option even when your options are limited after many restaurant's have closed up for the night!
Roll on another few generations of enjoyment and fantastic food, keep up the superb work guys!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiths_at_home98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Retro Restaurant”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The Green Parrot does a very good job at being a retro restaurant with large, basic meals. I had the weiner schnitzel which consisted of large pieces of meat accompanied by chips, coleslaw and salad.

The only drawback of the meal was that the meat was still rather greasy. It would have benefited from being able to rest on some paper for a couple of minutes, so that the excess oil could drain off.

The staff were all very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOTR Favorite”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We love coming to this vibrant and iconic restaurant. The Hobbits and Viggo from LOTR dined here and so do our monthly LOTR Tour groups. Always friendly service, generous meals and fabulous handy location. Your family does a wonderful job, thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedCarpetTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is what it is. Big basic meals at fair prices”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Having dined here a few times before we got exactly what we expected. The meals are huge and though not cheap are fair value for money. They are always friendly and courteous and very welcoming. Only go if you're very hungry and are to expecting a "Logan Brown" dining experience. I'll be back for the Schnitzel regularly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Parrot Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Green Parrot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing