We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elements Cafe

Elements Cafe
Ranked #177 of 911 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NZ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great little cafe in the middle of the suburb. Very popular but no reservations accepted. They have great little cakes, slices, muffins, rolls and bread - along with jam, pate etc which you can takeaway. But their brunch menu is truly delicious and worth a visit on the weekend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kowhaikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, if only service was on par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch on Sat and walked in, there was about at least 3 wait staff right there by the counter who saw me but no one acknowledged or asked if I needed a table. So I go and say hello and ask for a table for 2. We were seated in the middle room and had the menus brought out. We were given water. Then we had to flag someone again to get their attention to order.

The food itself is amazing. I had the lambs fry and bf had eggs florentine and a latte each. To say he had food envy would be an understatement as he kept eating off my plate! The lambs fry is a must try - so so good.

When we finished we had to flag someone again to ask if we can peruse the dessert menu. Like seriously they had about 5 staff going about clearing tables like it was a more important job than attending to customers still there, and it was not even a busy time anymore (past 2pm). No asking how everything was at any point or getting a water refill. It seemed like us ordering dessert was more of a hassle for them. A smile goes a long way!

If you don't care for service and want to go out of your way to eat here then go ahead as the food is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enzedwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Elements”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have been to Elements twice now and both times received highly professional service. The quality of the food is great, I also noticed they also make bread to buy as well. Seems to be both family orientated as well as a suitable place for business meetings. Ample amount of room and setting. Coffee is amazing too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 170Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Elements is located at Lyall Bay some 10 minutes drive from Courtney Place. Its well worth the visit. I have never been disappointed here - the food is good. A great place to go at a windy rainy Wellington Sunday morning. They also have a cafe part where you can just sit and chill over a nice flat white. Read the paper and just enjoy the atmosphere. Street parking is usually not a problem. Fish is good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Cafe with world class cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This gem is a little off the beaten track of Courtenay Place/ Cuba street. Not even on the water front at Lyall Bay, but back a couple of blocks on Onepu Street. It has grown over the years but still in minimalist stylist decor provides the best of Pacific Rim cuisine. The Chef and front of house are excellent. The also run a cooking school nearby. Check them out on Facebook too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elements Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Greater Wellington, North Island
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Northland Region, North Island
 

Been to Elements Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing