We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but pretty expensive, staff a little full on but lovely.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chow Woodward Street - CLOSED

Chow Woodward Street
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Fresh Asian cuisine in a relaxed modern environment.Vegan and vegetarian friendly with dairy and gluten free options.Open All Day with Free Wifi.Takeaways always available.Hotel chargebacks by arrangement.Two for One Food every Monday.Two for One Cocktails every Wednesday & Saturday
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but pretty expensive, staff a little full on but lovely.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Food is amazing but it is quite expensive so I tend to make the most of their offers like 241 nights which make it much more affordable. The soups and curry's are the best value for money if you aren't going when it's 241. Really recommend none the less.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HanneeNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    49
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food for the tastebuds!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Superb flavours for the taste buds you can choose several dishes it is a great way to have a memorable taste experience

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruceds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great night”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a group of 10. The waitress recommended we each choose one thing to try and the group got two of each selection. Great way to try new things! Everything we ordered was good. We also liked the two for one cocktails.
On the down side it was a bit too loud to talk to those at the other end of the table, we were located right next to a loud 'hens night' and those ladies were loud.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food but very long waits”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Granted we went there on the 21 Dec but found that while it didn't take long for us to get a table (there were only 2 of us) it took forever for our orders to be taken and another little while for the food to come out, which stretched our hour lunch break into much longer. The food itself is delicious - fusion asian style tapas - each portion had about 4-5 pieces. We had the salmon parcels, fresh vietnamese rice paper rolls, satay chicken and the prawn dumplings. The salmon parcels were easily the winner - could've eaten a truck load more! Prices per plate were around $10-$20 (with most being around the $15 mark) so it wasn't super cheap. Think I would go again on the strength of those salmon parcels!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nessaklnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Worth a visit any time for yummy food. Open late too which is a bonus! Just order a bunch of dishes and you won't be disappointed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank UK_Rob_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow Woodward Street also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing