We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable food with a twist”
Review of Chow Tory Street

Chow Tory Street
Ranked #15 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fresh Asian cuisine in a relaxed modern environmentVegan and vegetarian friendly with dairy and gluten free options.Open All Day with Free Wifi.Our Kitchen is always open until midnight.Takeaways always available.Hotel chargebacks by arrangement.Two for One Food every Monday.Two for One Cocktails every Wednesday & Saturday
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reliable food with a twist”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Been here a few times and food is good, not great (except their mussel fritters - they are 5 star!)
Fun atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    548
    165
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Never fails to please”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have eaten here quite often over the years, whether for a lunch or light dinner we have always enjoyed the food, service and ambience.

The menu is kind of pan-asian fusion which we enjoy, some niche cuisine experts will no doubt cavil at the hybridisation but we find it makes everything approachable and enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Innovative Asian food, tapas style. My favourite dish was castro's blue cheese and peanut wontons with berry coulis. We appreciated the comfortable atmosphere and good (not loud) music. Service was prompt and polite. We were not rushed at all. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dale b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We keep coming back because we can always count on great food, options to please everyone and friendly efficient service. We think this is one of THE best value for money casual dining options out. Love, love, love Chow!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank gorpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very pleasant meal - good variety to share”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I've been twice now, once with friends where we bought a dish each and shared, and once where we (four of us) stuck to our own choices.

Both worked out really well, gave us good variety, fresh food.

Its a little different in that you might order two dishes that total $25 and a $1 bowl of rice, rather than your usual $25-$30 main, but it works really well.

Atmosphere great - even better on a quiet night. For the limited outside dining part you may have to book. Handy thing is - the library bar is right next door and you can walk from one to the other.. and back if desired!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow Tory Street also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Chow Tory Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing