We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Zealand Experience”

Chameleon Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Savour the freshest produce with the collection of innovative dishes at Chameleon Restaurant. Experience true local flavours created by expert chefs who focus on sustainable products from local markets. From organic salad greens to eco pork, our chefs strive to integrate the best local produce available into the seasonal menus. A knowledgeable service team offers local expertise to enhance your dining experience.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
192 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great New Zealand Experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a hotel restaurant. But DON'T let that put you off! It is a great dining experience with fine New Zealand foods superbly prepared. (We usually avoid hotel restaurants, and went to this one on the strength of other reviews -- it was definitely the right choice!) The decor is pleasant and relatively casual (lots of wood and large glass windows with views onto Post Office square.)

Our starters were superb -- smoked salmon rillettes and roasted scallops were both complimented by little salads having unusual ingredients that developed excellent flavours. The creativity and care in preparation were notable, and highly successful!

For mains we had a fine tenderloin steak, expertly cooked rare as requested, and a juicy and flavorful roast chicken. There was a wide range of wines available by the glass, and our (young, European) waiter was most helpful with suggestions about NZ wines to go with the food. We regret we're not staying in Wellington long enough to go back, and explore other facets of the cuisine!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChameleonR, Manager at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear HK_Observer,
Thank you for spending a few moments to review your latest experience in Chameleon. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your entrees and mains, as well as the wine list and service that was provided to you on the night. This is something we pride ourselves on at Chameleon, and it is rewarding to read reviews like this. I will be sure to pass this feedback onto all involved.
Warm regards,
Craig Wood
Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    87
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff and food”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental, which is the hotel within which this restaurant is located. Rather than going out, we found ourselves returning here each evening because the food and service was exceptional! The seafood platter for two (see picture) was absolutely fantastic and would easily have fed three. After the first couple of nights our faces were recognized by some of the waiting staff, and the personalized service that resulted was a true credit to the restaurant (and the Intercontinental Hotel).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 97beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChameleonR, Manager at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear 97beyond,
Thank you for taking the time to review Chameleon. I was very pleased to see that you and your partner enjoyed the Seafood Platter, and the service you received on a nightly basis. I will be sure to pass this onto our service team. We hope to see you back in Chameleon when you next return to Wellington.
Best regards,
Craig Wood
Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Thanks TA for the great Tip”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

This was one of best value for money meals in NZ. We've been here 2 weeks! We had the seared tuna, and the lamb - delicious and perfectly prepared. The kids meals were amazing value of real healthy food. The service was attentive and made excellent recommendations. Wish we were here not her night to return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunyHuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChameleonR, Manager at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear RunyHuny,
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your meal with us during your time in Wellington; in particular the lamb and the seared tuna. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next venture to Wellington.
Kind regards,
Craig Wood
Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Way to End the Year”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The service was excellent - informative, immediate and not rushed.
The food was marvellous - plenty of it, we ordered two side dishes and shared them - we ate them because they were delicious (not because we needed them). Dessert was to die for.
Cost - what we expected.
Nice to be in a place where you don't have to yell to be heard - thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Planning to revisit for our birthdays.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunFoodie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChameleonR, Manager at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear funfoodie2013,
Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass these comments onto our kitchen and service teams. We look forward to hosting you throughout the year, when you have a special occasion coming up.
Best regards,
Craig Wood
Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“They really know how to cook”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My high rating for this restaurant has more to do with their food than the service or ambiance, although the latter two categories were more than adequate. Basically, the folks in the kitchen really know what they are doing and thus the food is well prepared and presented. The pumpkin bisque and seafood chowder were superb. The mussels, clams, fish (white fish and salmon), and prawns in the chowder were very fresh and had distinctive flavors. Of special note was the prawns marinated in fresh garlic, with the flavor absorb and not being leached into the broth. I was prone initially to criticize the broth part, as it was not thickened like one would expect of a chowder; rather it was a more free-flowing liquid. Nevertheless, this dish was replete with excellent vegetable morsels, particularly aromatic from fennel bulb (anise), such that it was so-ooh delicious. In the end, I accepted the dish for its great taste and textural aspects, and just savored this seafood stew (my definition). Yum! The slow-roasted pork shoulder and the rack of lamb main courses were excellent, as was the ratatouille side dish. The tabbouleh with the lamb was prepared perfectly. This is a brasserie-type restaurant with a contemporary feel, on the first floor of the Intercontinental Hotel. It has some charm, was comfortable, and the service was very good. We dined the night before at Artisan in the Bolton Hotel, where we were staying, and the food was a disaster there. We were so pleased to find such high-quality food at Chameleon. Next time in Wellington, we will stay at the Intercontinental and take full advantage.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuisinator007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChameleonR, Manager at Chameleon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear absolutepalate,
Thank you for taking the time to review Chameleon when you last dined. I was very happy to read that you and your partner enjoyed your meal, in particular our seafood chowder. I will be sure to pass these comments on to our kitchen team, and we look forward to ​welcoming you back ​to​ InterContinental​ Wellington​, and Chameleon Restaurant.
Warmest regards,
Craig Wood
Restaurant & Bars Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chameleon Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Chameleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing