We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class food and service”

Boulcott Street Bistro
Ranked #6 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Iconic Wellington restaurant, Boulcott Street Bistro opened its doors in 1991 and over the past 20+ years has welcomed visitors and locals alike with warm hospitality, fine food cooked with care, and a well chosen wine list, all served in a relaxed atmosphere.Boulcott Street Bistro follows a benevolent tradition , proudly serving its many loyal customers a combination of innovative, modern fare, classic bistro dishes, and great wines earning the reputation as a Wellington favourite. The kitchen sources the freshest seasonal produce available, and are always happy to accommodate dietary requirements and requests.The Heritage setting of the restaurant, also known as Plimmer House, is a delightful Wellington landmark. Plimmer house is named after John Plimmer, the notable Wellingtonian who was officially bestowed the title 'Father of Wellington'. The charming inner-city Gothic cottage was originally built as a wedding gift by a local groom for his bride to be in the late 1870s and came into the possession of the Plimmer family in 1911.Bookings can be made for lunch, but no need to book for dinner as it is casual dining. To help celebrate a special occasion we can organise flowers, champagne and a delicious house-baked chocolate cake. We have set menus for 10 or more if you are organising a function. Roast dinners, a traditional favourite, are available every Sunday evening from 6.00Pm with our "Roast & Red" special, and this includes a delicious homemade dessert and a glass of red.The private dining room seating 10 - 16 for lunch or dinner is also perfect for conferences or work functions with full catering services to suit your needs
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“First class food and service”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Small restaurant, tucked away, but definitely a place to go. There is no booking, so we had to wait 45 minutes for a table, but enjoyed some wine whilst doing so, and it was certainly worth the wait. My calamari was good and the slow cooked short rib of beef was lovely, with a rich BBQ sauce. My wife's risotto with prawns and chorizo was the best she had had and her lamb shank was excellent too. My daughter's duck fritter was superb, meaty and rich, and was followed by a properly cooked rare steak (difficult to get in NZ). The wine list is well chosen, with good wineries represented throughout, including Fromm, Greywacke, Palliser etc. Service was great too, attentive always but not obtrusive. Excellent and not exorbitant in terms of cost. A top restaurant that is worth going out of your way for. Tip: get there early to get a table, or go later, relax and enjoy the wait with a good glass of wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    147
    45
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gluten free foodies delight”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The staff at Boulcott Street are fantastic,so helpful nothing is a problem. We had a show to get to and we had 3 courses and were at the show with time to spare. The food was faultless,it was a real shame we couldn't stay and enjoy the atmosphere. Will definitly be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madkeenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent NZ meal in Wellington”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had dinner at this restaurant on the recommendation from the concierge at the Bolton Street hotel. It was a great recommendation...

We had to wait ~ 30 minutes at the bar for a table as they don't take reservations but the bartender was friendly. The only negative is that they don't have enough bar stools - maybe standing makes people want to drink more ;-)

We let our waiter chose our meals with the only specification that they should be representative of NZ cuisine. He did a fabulous job, combining entrees and main courses that balanced each other very nicely. I had a lamb shank and my wife a fish (don't remember which type) for the main course and both were excellent. We didn't have any dessert.

Overall an excellent meal along with great service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Wellington, without a doubt!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is our favourite restaurant in Wellington, if not the world - which is a big statement we know. However, we have been here for lunches and for dinner. Most recently we had family over from Ireland and decided to try all the top restaurants in Wellington. This was our favourite by far - others were either too stuffy/formal, too pretentious, too cold, too expensive for what was served, too boring or lacked atmosphere. Also they lacked consistency. However, having now been to Boulcott Street Bistro severals times in the last few months, we love the atmosphere, the layout and ambience and the food is divine! We love the fact that you can have a nice relaxed drink at the bar before the meal. The staff are all professional but warm and friendly. It is also great to see the same staff - a sign of good management, who are all very appropriate and know how to "read the customer". The menu varies and is always offering something fun, challenging or comforting. This weekend, we tried Garlic Snails (which were lovely - not something we thought we would ever try) but the Black Pudding was out of this world. The bread and butter is so delicious too - it's the little touches that make the difference. The noise level is just right - no scraping furniture on the floor, everything arrives in a timely manner and nothing is an issue for the staff. Well done to Boulcott St Bistro and the staff - we will pick you every time. Do not change a thing - you are just perfect on every level!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlitterbabeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice people and great food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff, a diverse menu with somethng for everyone, excellent presentation of meals and very good cooking. This restaurant based in a quaint historic Wellington home is well worth a visit. They don't take bookings but are very accommodating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulcott Street Bistro also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Boulcott Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing