We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed”

Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have eaten here at least half a dozen times always delighted with our meals and looked forward to returning as we live in a different city .This weekend was a special occasion and how disappointed we were. Tough tortellini and over cooked snapper sitting on top aof a gluey potato mash. Nothing like our previous experiences here. What has happened ? Did not want to stay any longer than the second course. The restaurant lacked the buzz it used to have. Boo Hoo. It has a completely different feeling. Won't go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    47
    27
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mid of town”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

and middle of the road food wise. I shared the lamb dish with my husband and we both felt it was nothing outstanding. The price of $75 for two was very expensive. The music was very loud and we had to ask for it to be turned down. ( We were there for business and had a group of 8 people with us) Yes the wine selection is great. Not sure that I would want to go back.
Lemon meringue tart for dessert had style and was delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice decor and food, though expensive .Didn't like being asked for a tip!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed our meals and the snapper I ate was nice though small in portion given the price charged.The decor was attractive and waitress attentive.It was totally spoiled when the cashier asked " what about the tip?".That is not the kiwi way and we resented it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oscarAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food and service, excellent wine list”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went with business colleagues - extensive wine list with knowledgable staff. Food was excellent, the roast lamb for 2 was very good, like an upscale tranditional roast dinner. Atmosphere was good, service was friendly and attentive. Would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gastropub food at fine dining price”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went to the Arbitrageur after reading the positive feedback but were sorely disappointed. The food was ok but no better and the service was pretty casual, we were only offered drinks when we were seated and then apparently forgotten about.

The lamb neck I had was tasty but 50% of the 'meat' was fat and inedible, my wife had the pork belly which was a weird mince on pasta which was pretty awful.

The only saving grace was that we had a voucher so didn't pay full price but even then it wasn't good value.

Overall very disappointing and we will not be going back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank langers1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arbitrageur Wine Room & Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing