We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant 88

Restaurant 88
Ranked #39 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant 88's stylish and modern interior is sure to impress. Home of provincial Vietnamese dining, Restaurant 88 introduces many diverse cuisine flavours to Wellingtonians, and visitors, as well as offering great service, and a lovely atmosphere. Fully licensed and open 6 days, you can enjoy lunch or dinner at one of Wellington's best-kept secrets. With an open mind and an empty stomach, let the journey begin!
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Tried this Vietamese restaurant last night after a couple of recommendations and after a fantastic meal and service we will definitely coming back. The service is first rate and the food is fresh and delicious, filling but does not overfill you, great portions and good value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaBellaKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    122
    20
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
161 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Very good and reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Every time my wife and I come to Wellington to visit our son we pay a visit to this restaurant and we always leave it feeling very happy and satisfied. To me the "drunken baby chicken" is a must, but any of the other possibilities we have tried here are very good. The value for money ratio continues being high in spite of the latest negative evolution of the exchange rate for Europeans. The people attending the tables are efficient and professional, the only shortcoming to mention of this restaurant being the small size of the tables and the sparce space between them. Also the list of wines is rather small (we usually have Allan Scott Sauvignon Blanc). But all in all the 88 is a place I would strongly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was the first time I had tried Vietnamese food and loved it. There was 6 of us in our group and we decided to go for the banquet so we could try many different dishes, as we had one member of our group needing vegetarian they were more then accommodating and swapped some dishes for us. Our waiter was excellent kept our glasses topped up and the food came at a good pace. I can also highly recommend the cocktails as we tried a few :)
We will be back for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had never eaten Vietnamese before and now I am hooked. Used our Entertainment voucher so got 2 for 1 but would definitely come back and pay full price. Lovely venue, great staff and the food is just exquisite! Loved it and will be coming back for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyndakj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Attentive, friendly staff. Prompt service.

Meals are delicious with amazing presentation and generous servings.

The restaurant itself has an excellent ambience and I was impressed to see that they used a proper spray to clean the tables rather than a manky old damp cloth.

We would definately come here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bpbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 88 also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Restaurant 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing