We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Botanica Homestay

The lounge/conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge/conservatory
The lounge/conservatory The second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The lounge/conservatory
The lounge/conservatory
The second bedroom
The hallway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
FellowTra...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 25, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Absolutely perfect location on a well serviced bus route .... close to Wellington city, and great local amenities (shops, restaurants, gym, etc). Jos and Lucien are superb hosts, and they run a warm and very comfortable rental location. As a former Wellingtonian back in town visiting friends and family, I say you can’t go wrong. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2018
Thank you for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed our Homestay this much! Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamad0c
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place in a beautiful city-Wish I could've stayed longer”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Wellington is one of the most beautiful cities I've seen (when the weather cooperates). This gorgeous house is in a cute neighborhood within walking distance of good restaurants and other amenities. The coffee and tea were outstanding and they have central heating so despite the crappy weather (the first day was beautiful, the second was cold, rainy and windy), we were warm and dry. The owners made sure we had everything we needed. I would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2018
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 15, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Attending Wellington for a weekend show near the ASB Arena, this location was excellent for easy access from the airport, and to the peninsula. Jo and Lucien were delightful, helpful and thoughtful but unobtrusive, and we had all we could need or want provided in this wonderful place. The gardens were serene and pretty, the view stunning from the top of the stairs (the only thing to be wary of if you have walking/stair issues), and their doorman (dog actually) charming. We were able to walk to a couple of decent eating options (the Thai was great food, quirky venue in an old pub), with a small set of shops very close as well. Information provided was very helpful and quite accurate in relation to local amenities, and the internet was very good. I found it was just perfect for our needs, and location was great. Note there is good breakfast facility, but no sink or hotplates, so cooking at home, beyond microwaving, is not available. I would love to stay there again if in Wellington. Thank you Jo and Lucien!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heathermc...
California
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay close to the Wellington airport”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We spent three nights at the Botanica Homestay, while visiting family in Wellington. We were surprised at how close Botanica Homestay was from the Wellington Airport - i.e. about a 5 minute drive. The Homestay was conveniently located in the Miramar district, within walking distance from restaurants and a grocery store, as well as to the Weta Studios, and there were buses nearby to other parts of Wellington.

The part of the home we stayed in, was a self contained area, with two bedrooms, a bathroom, a kitchen area and living room, as well as a deck, and when walking up the stairs, it was the first entrance way on the right, as one heads up the stairs. There is a joining door to the living quarters of Jos and Lucien, which we could leave dirty dishes to be cleaned, on the stairs behind the door. The home was clean, comfortable, and quiet for being in the city, and we had a good wi-fi connection. There was also ample choices of shampoos/conditioners/lotions in the bathroom which was nice. The Homestay did not come with breakfast, although we were able to pick up breakfast foods in town and had use of a refrigerator. Instead of breakfast, we were treated with a lovely bottle of wine one evening, with Jos and Lucien, and their dog, Maxi, as we looked out over their 2nd floor porch, to the lights of the city. Lucien was also gracious in mailing a letter with partial clipper cards back to a relative of mine, before we took off, which arrived safely several days later. We very much enjoyed our stay and send our thanks to Jos and Lucien for their hospitality and kindness.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2018
Thank you for the lovely detailed review! Very much appreciated. I hope you visit again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli J
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, what a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This gem of a place is located in the stunning hills of Wellington, in the suburb of Miramar. Upon our arrival we found a gorgeous home of which the entire lower floor was ours to enjoy. In the kitchenette we found freshly-baked chocoloate chip biscuits and a Nespresso machine for coffee as well as other goodies for tea, etc. Every room in the house was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The lounge and conservatory was beautiful with a deck comfortable seating. In the vicinity, and within easy walking distance, is a small township with excellent restaurants (the Thai is yummy!) as well as a New World supermarket. A bus stop is nearby so that an easy hop into the heart of Wellington can be accomplished without the hassle of traffic or finding a car park. What made our trip most special was the welcome we received by Jos and Lucien, what wonderful hosts and truly special people. Botanica Homestay is a wonderful place to stay whether as a romantic get-away or a restful stop-over on the way to the South Island. I highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us and really associate the extensive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odyssey69...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was a wonderful place to stay for our trip. Beautiful setting and facilities just lovely definitely will return again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our stay at the Botanica Homestay in February was just brilliant. Jos and Lucien were very welcoming and the accomodation was everything you need - nice large rooms, with a lovely lounge and eating area. Really felt like a home away from home.

The location is in a lovely part of Miramar and a short walk away from the local shops and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely homely environment and the size of the rooms.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thanks so much, Lauren! We're glad to enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing