We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Cross Serviced Apartments
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay, great value”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

I stayed at Southern Cross Apartments for a week in October 2009. For $66 NZD per night (weekly rate) for a studio apartment, I got great value for money. I booked directly on their website and had no problems with check-in. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower was great, and the kitchen had everything I needed. The apartment was in a great location, really close to Cuba street and close enough to walk anywhere downtown. Free wired internet in the room was a definite plus! The only downside was the fan in the bathroom was noisy when it got windy outside, which was really annoying. But otherwise, a great stay!

I would definitely recommend this place, especially at their weekly rate. I don't think you could find better for $66/night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed in the Southern Cross Apartments for 3 nights whilst sightseeing and visiting friends in Wellington. The room was spacious but not as clean as we would have liked with stains on the bathroom floor and some mould in the shower. We were next to the laundry so it was quite noisy at times with people coming and going. The winds in Wellington were particularly strong when we were there! and the seals on the windows had come away, so were not capable of stopping the loud whistling sounds throughout the night which kept us awake.
The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and the apartment block is very centrally located but you have to contend with lots of street noise.
Reasonable accomodation for those on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasher75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I spent 11 weeks in wellington 4 work and stayed here the whole time no need to try other hotels this 1 is perfect , best location in wellington , you can walk everywhere , even the drunkin walk home is no effort.
The rooms are very clean and have all the comforts of home, Great place to eat and have a beer right next door.
I ll be headin back to Wellington soon and ill be staying there 4 sure , the price is great the could easily charge more but they dont so thumbs up ,
BAZZA

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIMBEAMBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We stayed for 1 night only, but will definitely be back to stay should we travel through Wellington again. Our room had a full kitchen, had a large bathroom & large comfortable bed. Modern decor throughout & great view from the 9th floor of the city. Internet access is free & reception has ethernet cables that you can borrow. The reception staff are extremely helpful & can suggest sights to see. There was a laundry on our floor: NZD$1 per wash; NZD$1 per dryer cycle. Washing powder costs $1 per sachel, which are available at reception. Reception is open from 8.30am-5.30pm ony... but if you speak to them if you need something outside of those hours, they do their best to help out. The apartments are located 30 seconds from Cuba Street and all it's quirky restaurants and cafes and bars. Courtenay Place is located a 5min walk away, with all it's bars, cinemas, restaurants... and the harbour is a comfortable 10 minute walk. In all, Southern Cross Apartments is located perfectly in Wellington to all amenities and entertainment. We paid AUD$100 for 1 night.

  • Liked — Modern, free internet, & location, location
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TAAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Stayed there 4 nights, good average accommodation for budget travelers.Lady at the reception very helpful and nice.
Room and bathroom clean, little kitchen, not so ideal for cooking but for heating up good microwave.
Mattress too soft and bed not very big for couple, but on the whole acceptable.
Excellent location right at the corner of Cuba Street.
Check the Fidel Cafe, with the best blueberry muffins ever tasted, and next door a fantastic fish & chip shop. Further down the street a parisien cafe with fantastic french croissants and patisserie.

So much choise on Cuba street, difficult to know which place to go..

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms serviced only 2 times a week
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed here for one night this month and were incredibly impressed. The room was modern, clean & very large for a studio unit. It also had a full kitchen and as we were on a higher floor, the view was great. And this was for less than $100 nzd per night!

The location couldnt have been better, just off Cuba Street where there were some great shops & cafes. We were also next door to a bar/restaurant also called Southern Cross which was lovely. The food and drinks were supurb, and they had games such as 'guess who', 'connect 4' and 'boggle" on the tables which was a quirky and entertaining touch.

Unfortunately the complex didnt have car parking, however there was metered street parking out the front.

I will definitely stay here again when we return to Wellington.

  • Liked — Location & room
  • Disliked — no car park
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Candy_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.2 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Serviced Apartments

Property: Southern Cross Serviced Apartments
Address: Southern Cross Apartments 35 Abel Smith Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Cross Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern fringe (Cuba Quarter) of the central city. Easy walking distance to the CBD, Courtenay Place, Te Papa, Lambton Quay and the waterfront (all within 2km). Studio, Twin studios or 2 bedroom apartments all apartments self-contained with kitchenette, ensuite, Sky TV, local phone, WiFi internet (fees apply) and security card access. Adjacent to restaurant and bar with plenty of cafes to choose from. Weekly rates available. All major credit cards accepted and EFTPOS. Came and enjoy all of the sites Wellington has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Cross Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing