We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good price.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Cross Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Cross Serviced Apartments
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
qld
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, good price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed there for 6 days. Very well priced and excellent location, but extremely noisy on the Friday and Saturday nights. They have a good Garden Bar Restaurant next door but that is where the noise comes from. And it is bad, we could not sleep! There were 4 of us and while the apartment was small, it was excellent value and close to the CBD and some very good cafe’s! We picked up a rental car on the second last day and while parking is difficult in Wellington we were about to park it overnight in the street for free.

Room Tip: Get one far away as possible from the Garden Bar Restaurant next door, especially if it is a Friday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
17
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Horrible place , Bad Smells , Bad cleaning , I've had horrible experience. I have complained about some broken window and broken fan that was making a horrible noise at the night , and no one moved a toe against this. Couldn't sleep at night because of the cracking sound of the fans and the window whistles that have never been into maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waleed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Reasonable price, town was booked out and we got one bedroom apartments here. Can't complain about anything. Close to Cuba Street and not a bad walk into city. Southern Cross Garden bar next door great place for drinks or meals

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_coupleauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I love this small studio. The room is clean, bathroom is small but super tidy, white and shiny. The bed is so comfy. I would recommend this apartment to everyone who wants to visit wellington that wish to have a place is near the city centre. Close to shops, restaurants and other famous attractions like Te papa museum, Te aro park, St james theatre, Reading cinema, Courtney place... 15 mins to Willia street, Civic square, Lambton Quay. The price is reasonable. Feel like home when I was there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamynguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Location:
The Southern Cross Serviced Apartments at the Wellington CBD. The location of the hotel is perfect - on the corner of Cuba Street which comes under the pedestrian zone of wellington (most of interesting places in wellington are within walkable distance) and close to just about every culinary taste. Cuba St. is perhaps one of the most happening streets in Wellington :-). Absolutely loved the location as it's right on Cuba Street with all the cafes, restaurants to choose from that were still open even after 9pm and we were grateful for that.

Sometimes, especially the weekend it can be a bit noisy because of the restaurant next door but in general it's very quiet.

Duration: 2 weeks in Studio apartment.

Accommodation:
Furnished with or easy access to everything you need for living here 1 night or 1 month.


Facilities:
Very good price studio apartment room included free internet connection and basic kitchen (with oven, hobs, fridge, all plates, cutlery and pans etc.) well equipped and furnished. The only minor downside was that the oven was not 100% clean meaning that it smoked when we first put it on and we were worried about setting the fire alarm off plus small desk and wardrobe. Small bathroom with shower and toiletries provided. We really liked it, and were exactly what we needed.

There is a laundry room on the 5th floor which is handy. Housekeeping is only done once a week for long stay guests.

Management & Staff:
We found the Reception staff was extremely nice and helpful.


Stay Experience:
Overall experience was a compact, convenient and excellent value place to stay.

Place to visit nearby:
Please do some google - www.google.co.nz

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JK_delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here recently for a week. Arrived after hours but with the clear instructions got a key & entry sorted in no time. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment. Plenty of room, clean, tiny but adequate kitchen. It was very very windy on the first night so lots banging and clanging. Reception staff was extremely nice and helpful. Location superb, just top of the Cuba Street. As they have restaurant & bar right next door, weekend nights were very noisy. Band was playing on Saturday night and that would keep you awake if your room faces the bar. Good and affordable place to stay during the week.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the alleyway would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeAaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Central, nice staff, secure, clean, very good value for money even in the smallest studio. Furnished with or easy access to everything you need for living here 1 night or 1 month. (Have to pay for WiFi, or use free acess in the restaurant next door.) Same place next stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaseRDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sxapts, Front Office Manager at Southern Cross Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We truly value the opinions of our customers. We are currently in discussions with our WiFi service provider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.2 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Plaza Hotel
Bay Plaza Hotel
#35 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Serviced Apartments

Property: Southern Cross Serviced Apartments
Address: Southern Cross Apartments 35 Abel Smith Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Cross Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern fringe (Cuba Quarter) of the central city. Easy walking distance to the CBD, Courtenay Place, Te Papa, Lambton Quay and the waterfront (all within 2km). Studio, Twin studios or 2 bedroom apartments all apartments self-contained with kitchenette, ensuite, Sky TV, local phone, WiFi internet (fees apply) and security card access. Adjacent to restaurant and bar with plenty of cafes to choose from. Weekly rates available. All major credit cards accepted and EFTPOS. Came and enjoy all of the sites Wellington has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Cross Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing