We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and a cool casual 'all you need ' resting place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astelia Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great location and a cool casual 'all you need ' resting place”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Close to all the central attractions, two minutes from Cuba Street and all the eating places, this is the answer for an affordable studio apartment for two people. We were there to go to Te Papa (Monet exhibition) and explore, eat and look and this is a great base. Large room with all facilities and modern clean and well serviced. The 'Chil' cafe for breakfast is ok - they forgot my bacon but no complaints as our breakfast was included in the discounted weekend cost - crazy but true as we could chose whatever we liked. Convenient and a place we will definitely return to - to get the bacon this time and enjoy the truly "full" breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandBronwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    113
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
100
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Service very helpful. We arrived very late about 01:00 h but instructions and key were at the door. Unit was studio style, with in addition to flat screen tv and hifi, queen bed, kitchenette with small fridge/freezer, hotplates, microwave and necessary pots pans crockery etc. Bathroom only shower, but adequate with washer/dryer.
Great location on Willis, just short walk from Lambton Quay, Cuba street area etc. Supplies nearby at NW Metro just down Willis. We cooked one dinner and ate out for others, but all we needed was at hand, except suitable can opener, but reception found one for us after about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewinggum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We normally use the Quest on Johnson but thought we would have a change.
Room is a good size for a studio and quite comformatble. Parking is accross the road. Only negative that windows only open abouty three inches and if it was hot could be a problem. Can understand narow window opening due high floors but air con would be great

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We booked here mainly due to the location. Knowing that our ferry would arrive late in the evening we wanted something where we could rush out in the morning and have a quick look about before leaving for the north. As it turned out we got an earlier boat and were able to make the most of it.

The hotel is a little tricky to find but it is a city with one way systems. Once there we were directed to the car park opposite (extra charge) where we parked up. I got the impression that this place is more set up for the corporate worker who stays in the city during the week, but didn’t actually see anyone else to judge this. The reason for this is that you could live here. Everything you could want is here including a washer dryer. Good city view out the window, the window opens fully and there’s a railing also the place is spotlessly clean. Downstairs the reception is efficient and friendly and they sorted out our washer for us. There is also a café which was very nice for breakfast.

The hotel is ideally located for the museum amongst other places and a number of eateries, we chose the General Practitioner out the left when leaving the hotel. We would recommend it as we really enjoyed our meal there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesecreteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

This place is well located for central Wellington, has good facilities, comfy bed. We were there to catch up with family and accordingly had a rollaway bed in in the lounge for one of my teenage offspring. Whilst open plan the apartment worked well as it was sizeable enough to cope with all this! Actually being there was private and whilst it was in town was quiet. The hot breakfast in the week days was fantastic. although the continental delivered to your room in the weekend was somewhat on the basic and unappetising side! This was the only blemish.

  • Liked — Spaciousness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

The Stratford has mini apartments that are very nice rooms with a small kitchenette and a washer in the bathroom area. We were only there one night but these would be excellent for an extended stay. Everything was new and the kitchenette had everything you could possibly need including a small fridge, two burners, glassware, etc. Staff was helpful as well.

  • Liked — very reasonable with a very nice room
  • Disliked — farther from the train station than I'd hoped
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Great place to stay in wellington!! No steep hills to walk when wanting to going to Te Papa and around the city center which are easy walking distance away!!

Bus stop and dairy close by which is a added bonus.
Try a hot chocolate at the chocolate shop just down and across the road. mmMmm

This Hotel was Very Clean and tidy and couldn't find any faults:)
Electric blankets was a great bonus and the heater kept us toasty warm.

Washing/dyer machine, dishwasher very handy . The shower was heavenly with great pressure. Very spacious apartments!!

Loved how the hall lights came on with motion detectors and the quite lift made it quite and no hassle on each floor.

A computer is available in reception (when open) with a charge of $5.00 for an hour with a password so you can use that time when you like during your stay.

Because our room was ready when we arrived from our early morning flight, checking in wasn't delayed till the afternoon!!

The staff were very happy to hold our bags after checking out till our flight in the early evening.

The day we left the weather wasn't nice and flights were being canceled. The staff were very helpful and contacted me during the day to confirm our flight was still departing on time!! It was also no hassle to hold our room for us if our flight had been canceled and we needed a room for another night:)

Shuttle cost for us was $15 for the first person then $5.00 for every person after that from and to the airport.

So I can Highly Recommend to you a stay here!!

  • Liked — The space our room had
  • Disliked — no 24 hour access to a computer
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EnderbyIslandRabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.0 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astelia Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astelia Apartment Hotel

Property: Astelia Apartment Hotel
Address: 156 Willis Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Astelia Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why you travel to Wellington is your choice, how you sleep is our focus. With a choice of studio style or open plan one bedroom options, Astelia Apartment Hotel combines space, value and location to allow you to enjoy Wellington. Each apartment has everything a hotel offers plus in-room laundry facilities, SKY TV and broadband internet. Enjoy a range of chargeback options in the area, or dine in with a full kitchenette in every apartment. This 4 star self-rated apartment hotel is located in the shopping quarter of Willis Street. The location offers handy access to the quirky entertainment and cafe culture of Cuba Street and dining out and nightlife options of Courtenay Place, and is a short walking commute to the business district. During the day, take a stroll along the waterfront or a look around Te Papa Museum, just a 15 minute walk from your apartment. Astelia Apartment Hotel really does offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astelia Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Stratford Apartment Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing