We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and spacious”
Review of Airport Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airport Motel
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and spacious”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

I'm always wary when someone suggests staying in a motel because I've been in a few that are very dated and have questionable hygiene but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were modern looking, clean and our family room was spacious. Despite being close to the airport we didn't hear a thing. I was disappointed to get tinned fruit with my breakfast but it was such a minor issue. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It was cheaper & easier to leave the car here and get the 11 bus into the city centre. The stop is directly outside the motel and parking was well priced for the location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satrinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    53
    44
    19
    12
See reviews for
46
51
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in January while we were in Wellington. Rooms were quite modernwith most of the amenities you would need. The motel is very close to the airport which is great for those with early flights the next day like us, however there was no noise problems.
Exterior is a bland yellow colour which isnt very attractive, this is something the motel could improve on. Overall we had a good stay at the Airport Motel

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronBay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I booked the Airport Motel at short notice as we needed somewhere to stay as we had an early flight from Wellington airport the following morning. As they had no standard rooms left we were given a 'luxury room' which included a spa bath. When we arrived at the place about 10pm we found that it appears to be in the middle of an industrial area but at least managed to find a space to park in the tiny carpark ( I would have struggled with a larger car or peoplemover). Was dealt with by the manager and recieved courteous service and complimentary bottle of Speights ale. The room was ok, bed was very comfortable (but then again we were very tired), rater disconcerting and ugly industrial style flourescent lighting in the room (do they expect people to steal lightbulbs / fittings??!). The walls appeared to be paper-thin, we weren't allowed to use the spa bath after 11pm as it was too noisy, whilst sitting in the bath (non-spa as it was after 11!) I could hear people's voices, the noise of which appeared to be coming out of the bath overflow! Also in the morning we could hear a lot as people started moving about.

It was in a handy location for the airport and probably had quite a nice view (it was dark the whole time we were there!) but the thin walls and fairly high price would put me off staying more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fork_handles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

going out of wellington to the philipines stayed here one night found room to be very small mainly because im a big fella , clean however and close to airport also has free shuttle service to airport which i found to be a bonus , felt room price was to high for the size of it would not stay here again due to this , also very little in the way of restaurants and other things to do though the beach and sea were nearby ,a one night stay only any longer and i would go spar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonasluck1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Myself and my partner are travelling on a budget and decided to stay here due to it being so close to the Airport.
Booking online was made easy due to you being able to book from their website. Within a couple of minutes we had recieved our confirmation back from the motel which for a stress head like me was very reassuring. We had decided to take the spa unit as I am a sucker for a spa baths. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist who's general area knowledge was outstanding. The unit was amazing, the huge window looking out to the beach was magical and my partner had alot of fun watching the planes, surfers and kite boarders.
We were amazed at how close we were to the airport but yet the unit was so quiet.
They even gave us a free lift to the airport the next morning in their shuttle.
The airport motel is one of a kind and the real meaning behind kiwi hospitality!!!
Keep up the good work team : )

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We needed a base for two nights near the airport and this met our requirements. We did not have the "on a tray the night before" breakfast but drove into the city. The room was small, don't unpack too much. The staff were friendly and helpful. Not too much noise from the planes. You need a car to get back into the city although there are some buses close.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iansoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We were staying for 3 days in Wellington and I was looking for cheap accommodation with minimal fuss with our baggage.

The free shuttle to and from the airport was excellent. It meant that we had no trouble getting to and from the hotel. One objective met.

It was cheap for Wellington at $119 per night for a double - we had a balcony studio. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower room was very nice. The owner provided milk throughout our stay and was quite helpful. The other staff were friendly and helpful. Our room had limited kitchen facilities - OK for breakfast but not much more.

Being by the airport was no problem and although we had a bit of a journey into town, that wasn't a problem as we were expecting that - reasonable trade off for no hassle with the baggage. It cost $12 single but you could buy a Star Pass for $20 which gave free bus travel around Wellington for the day as well as reducing the total cost to and from the motel.

BUT, it was so cramped and small with almost no storage. The only storage (apart from the kitchen units) was a single bedside unit with a single drawer and no wardrobe space. Our coats were hung on a hook behind the door and we lived out of the suitcase for all three days. As well as the compact kitchen units with fridge alongside the bed - 2 ft away - there was a small breakfast bar unit (3 to 4 ft long) with stools. Apart from a normal sized double bed and a space just large enough for our (large) suitcase that was it. It was just too small and I would not consider returning unless it was for a single night stopover and that is the only basis upon which I could recommend it.

There were also a couple of minor problems - one with the kettle where the lid was a bit iffy and the other with a window where one of the two catches was broken.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spock999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
0.8 mi away
Brentwood Hotel
Brentwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilbirnie
296 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
671 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Airport Motor Lodge
Airport Motor Lodge
#22 of 46 in Wellington
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
747 Motel
747 Motel
#2 of 2 in Kilbirnie
63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adelaide Motel
Adelaide Motel
#43 of 46 in Wellington
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Motel

Property: Airport Motel
Address: 142 Tirangi Road | Rongatai, Wellington 6022, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute drive from Wellington Airport and overlooking beautiful Lyall Bay, Airport Motel offers free airport transfers. All rooms feature a private balcony or spa bath. All heated rooms feature a well equipped kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator. Each room has satellite TV and a private en suite bathroom with a hairdryer and guest toiletries. Wellington Airport Motel is located opposite a shopping center, 15 minutes' drive from central Wellington's city centre. The famous Te Papa Tongarewa Museum is a 20-minute drive away. The motel is 4 minutes drive from the ASB Sports Centre and Wellington Regional Aquatic Centre. *** FREE AIRPORT SHUTTLE SERVICE (8:00am till 10:00pm) *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Kilbirnie
Airport Motel Wellington
Airport Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing