We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, simple and convinient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Wellington
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, simple and convinient”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our family spent one night here before leaving on the ferry. We had a very modern, pleasant 2 bedroom suite- nothing fancy but everything was clean and proper. Parking was included and the building seemed very well taken care of- no smells and very clean. Great stay overall!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvoloshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. 'Clean, Simple & Convenient' are all postive descriptive words and are very much appreciated. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
41
73
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were staying over prior to a family funeral so not the happiest of visits. We found the room to be well appointed and very clean. Very suitable for our purposes.
We had a little difficulty finding the hotel - it is situated on a back section and finding the turn left immediately after the roundabout had us bushed for a short while.
Good to have covered parking. We didn't use the lift but can see how helpful it would be if you had a lot of luggage.
I found the pillows to be fairly hard. I am informed that on hearing this the proprietors have taken a lot of time and effort to remedy the problem. Good stuff
We would be happy to stay there again - the hotel is close to Wellington and the Hutt Valley and is very quiet and restful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Good morning,
Thank you for your review. It was a sad occassion that we met under and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you found the accommodation. We are more than happy to remedy problems within our control, and have adjusted the new pillows to a more comfortable level for a better nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel is immaculate throughout with large rooms that include a spa bath as well as a separate room that has leather chairs, desk, table and flat screen tv. There is a tv as usual in the bedroom. The small kitchen area has all the facilities that you need, and is complete with modern accessories. Breakfast is available on site. The hotel is ideally situated and you have access to shops, supermarkets, the mall etc - all within a 3-5 minute walk. The owners and staff were excellent throughout. If you need to stay in the Johnsonville area, then look no further. This hotel is a credit to the Best Western brand, truly excellent !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveW1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found Johnsonville to be such a great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thank you Mark and Helen for your caring hospitality. It was great that you put all our families in rooms next to each other. This motel is very clean with spacious rooms and is very comfortable. Very close access to the motorway.For those who can't find the motel easily and end up back on the motorway for a second attempt (as we did), here's a tip. Keep an eye out for KFC on the other side of the road.When the GPS says turn right, go back along the opposite side of the road for a few seconds and make a sharp left at KFC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We endeavour to make guests stay as enjoyable as possible and we love to hear that we have met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

As I'd seen this place on Googlemaps, I knew exactly where to find it, but if you don't (and I've read some reviews of initially confused people) then i imagine it could be hard to find. It's very easy to get to Johnsonville from the ferry terminal, it's just off the State Highway 1 in the centre of Johnsonville, but the hotel is up a cul-de-sac and even then you can miss it as it's almost hidden by a building.

Once you get there everthing's fine - you avoid high hotel prices and parking charges in Wellington, it's a great place, there's free parking, we got an enthusiastic welcome, the room was spacious and very clean, there was free wifi, and it's close to a shopping centre. I wouldn't recommend driving into Wellington though, as parking is difficult and parking charges high: you can easily get the bus or train into town and get where you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyshaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Good morning,

Thanks for your wonderful review. We call ourselves 'the hidden gem' and when guests write and let others know how to find us before arrival, it's great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good value, great hosts, balconies great for sunny afternoon. Very tidy, clean apartments with host that leave you alone but are there for you when you need them.

Cannot be faulted, just fantastic in every way possible. They go out of their way for you.

Trev

Room Tip: Room with balcony is the upmost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback and it's great to be appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Such a wonderful hosts and so clean the rooms were. Everything in need was supplied and they were inviting, rooms and cuddly beds to live. I will go there any day to have a lovely stay with popular eateries and fuel within 2mins walking distance.

Thank you so much for every effort you offered.

See you again when I'm in that area.

Big hugs
Fletch

Room Tip: I would have loved to have had a balcony room instead if internal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FletcherNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
4.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
5.0 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#19 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#21 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
4.7 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wellington

Property: Best Western Wellington
Address: 17 - 19 Burgess Road | Johnsonville, Wellington 6037, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Wellington)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 luxury units on the 2nd and 3rd levels with lift access direct from the car park. Free undercover parking with 24hr CCTV surveillance for peace of mind security. Quiet, comfortable accommodation features wireless internet (first 20MB free) in all rooms. Executive suites provide pampering with a Spa bath,Standard King bed & balcony. Central to the whole of the Wellington region, the Motel is only 10 minutes to the heart of Wellington city, 5min to Westpac Stadium & the Ferry Terminals, 10mins to Te Papa, Hutt Valley and Porirua. We are also on the train route directly into the Westpac Stadium and the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing