We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Wellington
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Best Western in Johnsonville while we were in Wellington for Homegrown. Our room was immaculate, the facilities excellent and the staff very friendly, helpful and accomodating. On our arrival we were given a map of Johnsonville together with a train timetable and information about getting in to the city. We had never stayed in Johnsonville before - instead preferring to be in the heart of Wellington but given the value of this accomodation together with the excellent service we received and the comfortable, quiet, well presented room we will definitely be back at the Best Western on our next visit to Wellington.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We definitely have one of the best locations in town. Feel free to ask reception
for some sightseeing tips if you stay again. All our staff are locals so can help
you with any questions you have about getting around as well. I’m also pleased
to see you gave us high marks for cleanliness. Our housekeeping staff work
hard to keep the rooms in top condition and I’ve passed on your feedback to
them. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Motel located close to the motorway after circle up a road next to KFC. Easy access to Wellington and North. Walking distance to the Johnsonville station with trains to Wellington. We used the train to the stadium and this was a very effective form of transport.

Sunset with Fish and Chips at Plimmerton is a must.

Accommodation consisted of one double bed and a room with three single beds. Good off street covered parking in basement. Well run establishment, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZakyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We definitely have one of the best locations in town for easy of travel to the 7's. The local train station is just a few minutes walk from us and the Westpac Stadium is the lat stop. Our room types offer a variety of options from couples to family rooms. Thank you for your great review and if we can be of service in the future it would be a pleasure to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night early Jan 2013. The motel was not easy to find even with a GPS as it is tucked away at the end of a small cul de sac but because of this there was no traffic noise and it was really quiet. We stayed here because of its proximity to the ferry terminal, which is an easy 10 minute drive away (perhaps not in peak hour traffic.). The apartment was spotlessly clean, it had very comfortable lounge chairs and the kitchen was well equipped. There is a bath/shower which we don't mind. There is a small balcony but the view is over the fire station next door. Our hosts were very hospitable and provided suggestions of where to dine out, which is always handy. There is a large supermarket and restaurants within very easy walking distance. Car parking is under cover and there is a lift which saves having to lug suitcases up stairs. It is outside of the city but there is a train station close by. We found this was a perfect location if you are catching the interislander ferries because it is very easy to access the motorway and you only have to stay in the left lanes and follow the clearly marked signs to the terminal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill_chris58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed hosting you and compliment your writing skills. Take care and if ever you need accommodation in Wellington again, please give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have stayed here a few times as it was close to people who I was visiting. This place is close to the fire station and motorway which I had heard very little noise from both. Unfortunately I was not well on my last stay and the staff were very respectful and allowed me to rest. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kiwitashie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Manager at Best Western Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of your stay with Best Western Wellington. We would welcome your return should you need accommodation again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We chose this motel because it provided excellent accommodation for us and our elderly mother. It has free parking and a lift, with some rooms to suit people with disabilities.
The motel is tucked away in a street close to KFC so you need to follow the directions carefully to find it. Once you are there, you are in walking distance of Johnsonville shops, takeaways and restaurants.
It is also easy to access the motorway and get to Central Wellington quickly, once you have oriented yourself to the route.
We have stayed in a one-bedroom disabled unit with a balcony, which was great for 3 adults and also a studio room with room for 3. We found the rooms spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet,well equipped and with attractive furnishings. It is near the fire station and motorway but we weren't disturbed by either on the two occasions we stayed there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was wonderful to hear your stay was enjoyable and all the positive comments you made. We would love to assist you with accommodation requirements next time you are visiting Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've stayed at this motel a number of times over the years and have never been disappointed with the comfort, cleanliness and service. It's convenient to leave the car behind and use the train to get to the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaki53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to taking care of your travel needs in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Staying in CBD Wellington when you have a car can be difficult, and expensive. But a little lateral thinking leads you to this great place to stay in suburban Johnsonville, which is well served by a suburban train service only 200 metres from the hotel. Leave your car at the hotel, free, and take the train into the city (and with a senior card that's free too, in off-peak hours). But that's by no means the only attraction - the hotel is modern, comfortable, well appointed, with friendly helpful staff, free wi-fi and surprisingly quiet for its location beside the motorway. It can be a bit tricky to find (thank goodness for GPS), up dead-end Burgess St opposite McDonalds. But once you're there, it's great. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helentoner, Owner at Best Western Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We appreciate your positive comments and thank you for all the information you have provide to prospective guests. If we can be of service to you again in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
5.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
4.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
5.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
538 reviews
5 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#22 of 47 in Wellington
493 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wellington

Address: 17 - 19 Burgess Road | Johnsonville, Wellington 6037, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Wellington)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 luxury units on the 2nd and 3rd levels with lift access direct from the car park. Free undercover parking with 24hr CCTV surveillance for peace of mind security. Quiet, comfortable accommodation features wireless internet (first 20MB free) in all rooms. Executive suites provide pampering with a Spa bath,Standard King bed & balcony. Central to the whole of the Wellington region, the Motel is only 10 minutes to the heart of Wellington city, 5min to Westpac Stadium & the Ferry Terminals, 10mins to Te Papa, Hutt Valley and Porirua. We are also on the train route directly into the Westpac Stadium and the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing