We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The theatre has it's own little style! :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BATS Theatre

BATS Theatre
Ranked #94 of 229 things to do in Wellington
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The theatre has it's own little style! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I went there for the actor improvisational production of "Wishing tree". It was really well done, the actor's seemed to pull off even the most awkard of moments(as they would pick a few wishes off the tree of who would be in the audience without knowing ~ then act it out on the spot with their pair incorporating humor,dialects and a storyline. Check out the tiny but funky "Pit bar" attached where you can relax before or after a show. Also a sweet shop famous for it's $2 mixtures!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwigirl1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little local theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Always got interesting - often quirky - shows on that I have always enjoyed! Pretty small theatre but worth checking out!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tickles99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Intimate theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

BATS' prgramme of theatre is dynamic and varied; typically performed by younger or emerging artists. I have never been dissapointed and often been pleasantly surprised.

Helpful?
1 Thank WellingtonChris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“vi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I've been to great shows here and I've been to terrible ones. That said, I can say the same for all the theatres in Wellington. Bats has the great advantage of being cheap (around $20 for a ticket, not much more than a movie) so if it's great you feel like you got the best bargain night out ever and if it's bad, then you don't feel as disappointed as if you go to one of the more mainstream and therefore expnesive theatres. It means Bats does short runs of interesting stuff. Sometimes that won't be interesting to you stuff, but if you're thinking of going out for the evening, check this place out to see if there is something that appeals. It's a vibrant theatre which attracts a wide range of people (in a good way).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The fringe theatre festival is superb! Space b#tches rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

It was only my second time at the Bats, this time for the Space B#tches comedy musical. This is a boutique theatre on a tight budget, and it's out of this world! The premises is everything it should be and the Pulp Fiction Puppet show at the adjoining Pitt Bar is a nice way to start or finish an evening, just be early seats are limited! Oh and tripadvisor I think calling B#tches profanity is a bit much, requiring me to replace the 'i' with a '#'!

Helpful?
1 Thank Temporarilycrippled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BATS Theatre also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to BATS Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing