We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, great view, clean.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, great view, clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great rooms, good food, excellent service and facilities. This hotel is also very affordable, we stayed 3 nights and it only cost $820, including breakfast and unlimited use of pool and gym. Our room had an acceptable view of the Beehive but no harbour view. Pool is good sized, gym is clean and equipment new. Room had a AC unit and walk in shower. As expected, the minibar is extreme priced. A bottle of Pump costs $5.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, view better and less circulation of people in corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGuy290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi there.
Thank you for sharing your review with us and other travelers. It sounds like you had a great stay with us and really utilized all the facilities that we have to offer. Next time you visit, we highly recommend booking one of our Harbour View Rooms as the view is truly exceptional! We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    733
    243
    61
    18
See reviews for
286
738
74
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 14th floor with a balcony room , we are here for two nights and we have nothing bad to say at all . The rooms are clean, tidy and spacious, bed is comfy and the staff are really helpful . First time at the Rydges for us and we will definitly be back . Our balcony faces another building but still has spectacular views . Very happy !!!! Thanks Rydges !

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissRach01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your great review! It makes us very happy to see that you could not fault your experience with us. This is exactly what we like and expect to hear. We hope to have you stay with us again, next time you're in Wellington city.
Kind regards and safe travels,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stay at rydges 2 - 3 nights a week and the place is fantastic. The staff are friendly, knowledgable and there when needed. The rooms are excellent.The restaurant superb.Well worth checking it out.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwidrum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi kiwidrum63,
As one of our regular guests, we find your feedback particularly helpful. Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts with us and other travelers. It is great to read that you highly recommend our hotel and consistently enjoy your time with us. See you next time.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is my go-to hotel in Wellington. It's affordable and reliable. I always come away from a stay here feeling refreshed! It's clean, comfy, spacious, has good views and the staff have always been lovely. The only downside is that it's a bit of a walk to Courtenay Place/Cuba Mall.

Room Tip: Sign up to PriorityGuest Rewards - it's free and only takes a few seconds but you'll get dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that we are your go-to hotel in the Capital. We understand that there is a lot of choice in Wellington City, so it is very gratifying to read that we are your top choice. I have passed your review onto all our staff members here at the hotel, so they can share in your praise. See you again next time.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright,
Rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
384 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I travelled to Wellington for business and stayed on a Sunday night.

The room rate was very reasonable at $116 for a 5 star hotel. Hi speed wireless internet is reasonably priced at $10 per day.

The rooms are spacious an clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi Lee,
Thank you for sharing your review with us and other travelers. It's great to see that you considered your stay to be "perfect"! This is what we love to hear! We're glad that you found our room rates to be competitive and found the high speed WIFI convenient. We hope to see you back at Rydges Wellington, next time you require accommodation in the city.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband & I stayed the night at your hotel a week ago. We were so taken away how spacious the room was because it was the disable room but we adjusted. It was a good size bed & comfortable, the view was awesome as we requested.
Until I went to have a shower & it was a let down on the housekeeping department with the lack of eye for details, the only clean part in the bathroom was the toilet bowl.
I was so disgusted having a shower in such state of cleanliness: The shower curtain is sooo pink that means it is sooo overdue for a wash, the chrome tissue holder was spotted with white like toothpaste splashes same splashes covered half of the mirror, down up. The soap marks on both side of the hand-basin tap, top of vanity & topped it off with blonde hairs in the amenities tray.
Then in the morning I wanted to use the toaster & I found a cloud of dust on the toaster which was looked like it hasn't been dusted for weeks. So I rather eat my bread instead of toasting them.
Apart from all that, it won't stop us from coming back to your hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poplarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review of Rydges Wellington. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and experiences with us. We agree that the level of cleanliness you describe is completely unacceptable and for that we apologize. Your review has been been passed onto our Housekeeping Manager so he can ensure that the issues you mentioned are remedied and can work to ensure this does not happen again. Our Housekeeping team pride themselves on a high level of cleanliness and attention to detail, so your review is very disappointing to read. We are, however, glad to see that you were not put off from staying with us again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I spent one night here and had a very attractive room with wide harbour views. Very comfortable bed and a good armchair. Kitchen facilities were sufficient though I had the breakfast which was included and very good. Had a bath tub (with shower over) which was appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. Its fantastic to read that you loved your stay with us and especially enjoyed our breakfast buffet. This is often a standout for our guests, so it's great to hear that this was no exception for you! We hope to see you again, next time you're visiting Wellington.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing