We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our first visit to Rydges Wellington. We arrived early for check in and were able to access our room straight away,which was much appreciated. The decor of the room and overall hotel was excellent. The pool, spa and sauna were well used by the our entire family. Was a little disappointed the area was not checked on later in the day, as by evening there were no dry towels and there had been rubbish and wet towels left lying around.
The buffet breakfast was, to put it politely, a shambles. Admittedly the staff were very busy, however I expected a Hotel of this quality to be professional enough to manage. The food and juices were slow to be replenished and when they were, often there were no plates or glasses/cups available! When we were finally able to get our meal, I found we had no cutlery, on trying to get the attention of a waitress, I was told to 'hang on'. After 'hanging on' another 10 minutes, we had the privilege of consuming the cold food. The breakfast experience was very disappointing, I would not recommend this during peak times.
The location of the Hotel was awesome, convenient walking to parliament, te papa, train station and the water front bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timekeeper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    748
    250
    62
    18
See reviews for
293
758
76
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Rydges is our hotel of choice when we overnight in the City, which is quite often. We stayed again this Easter. As ever, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the room was really comfortable, and the pool and the spa were a lovely temperature. We all had a really good holiday. However, there are just a couple of things I'd like to bring to your attention which took a little bit of the shine off our trip.

Firstly, one of our abiding memories of our earlier visits has been the warm and welcoming staff at reception. There is nothing like being made to feel a million dollars to get your holiday off to a good start. This time however I found the reception staff distant and slightly off-hand, and there was also unnecessary confusion about our booking (we had been sent an email offering a 2nd night at 50% of the best flexible rate, which we had accepted). When you are all excited about your holiday, and have two excited kids in tow, you want to be made to feel welcome and valued, and I didn't get that feeling. Other staff we met along the way were great - the air of gloom seemed confined to the lobby!

Secondly, breakfast on Sunday morning was an undignified scrum. I realize it is a busy time of year, but I would have expected a hotel like Rydges to be prepared for that and have enough staff on hand to make sure breakfast went smoothly. There wasn't enough crockery or cutlery, food items ran out, and it all felt a bit chaotic. It was better on the Monday morning.

Another area of disgruntlement was the hotel's handling of the special deal we had been offered. The terms and conditions of the deal were not clear, which led to confusion at reception when we checked in and checked out. Upon check out we had to explain again that we were taking advantage of a special offer, and have our bill amended. The confusion was unnecessary - I would have thought that your systems would have enabled staff to make notes of and implement special offers?

And finally! Why have you changed the key system? The new system is unresponsive and clumsy. We got stuck going up and down in a lift in our wet togs because we couldn't get our key to work! Fortunately, a very helpful member of staff came to our rescue.

The great bits of our stay were still great - the room, the view (thank you for fulfilling our request for a sea view), the overall feel of the hotel - and it is a wonderful place to stay for families. But, a warmer welcome at the reception would have made a great stay even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when you book - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loocoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Detailed reviews such as yours help us to continually improve the services and facilities that we offer. Firstly, we're pleased that Rydges Wellington is your hotel of choice in Wellington City and hope that it will continue to remain so.

I have passed the comments regarding your experience at our Front Desk to onto our management team, so they can work with staff to ensure that situations like this do not occur again. We completely agree that this is not a pleasant beginning to a family holiday and something we will work to improve. Breakfast on Sunday morning was very busy, but as you say, this is not an excuse for poor service. I have passed your comments onto our Operations Manager so he can look into what went wrong and what procedures we can put in place to ensure that busy periods run smoothly. We appreciate your comments regarding our new key system. During this initial installment phase, guest feedback is very important to ironing out any issues.

We look forward to having you and your family back at Rydges Wellington soon.
Kind regards and safe travels,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Good hotel for staying with family and reasonable rates with breafast included but the breakfast service was poor unable to handle the easter rush. no plates, cups, bread etc Easter should not be a excuse to give a poor customer experience. Hope it improves tomm morning

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you found Rydges Wellington to be a good hotel's for families and also found us to be good value for money. However, it is disappointing to read that your time at our hotel was let down by the experience at our buffet breakfast. We completely agree that an Easter rush period is no excuse for a drop in service and I am sorry that this was your experience. I have passed this information onto our Food and Beverage Manager for him to look into. We hope that the service at breakfast the next morning was of a more acceptable standard.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Hotel is well situated along a two-block walk from the rail station and also two blocks from a bus stop with access directly to the airport. This part of town more for government and business, rather the entertainment. Rooms and common areas were modern and snazzy. Bathroom had frosted glass between it and bedroom, but a curtain was provided to give privacy to bathers and reduce light to sleepers. There was a nice lap pool, but the fitness room was miniscule -- a small triangle with a treadmill, elliptical and virtually no floor space (though hotel did offer free passes to a local gym). Plus, access to pool / fitness was through reception space on mezzanine level which was odd. Lack of any free WiFi, even complimentary amount, was disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with is; we appreciate you doing so. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommend our hotel to other travelers. I have passed your review onto our management team for their consideration. We hope we will see you again next time you require accommodation in Wellington City.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I had a terrific stay in a large one bedroom suite at this hotel. The room was recently remodeled and had all the things one would expect. The kitchen had a 4 burner stove, there was a large fridge, and all the dishes, pots, and pans I would ever need. The room was on a corner with a great view of town and the waterfront. It was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was huge. My only criticism would be that the shower was weak, and frequently drained into the center of the bathroom. The sofa bed in the living room was broken, and I kept sinking into the sofa because the cushions were collapsing. Probably would have given it 5 stars if it weren't for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westwilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran W, Public Relations Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi there. Thank you very much for your review. We love to hear when our guests' have great experiences. Regarding the issue with your suite bathroom and sofa bed, to help us remedy this, please email kieran_wright@rydges.com with your room number. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Kieran Wright
Rydges Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel has great views if that is what you have paid for. The room itself is comfortable but only room for one to sit anywhere but on the bed. We went to the restaurant for something light and ordered selection of dips to share. Two tiny dips and one butter. I checked out breakfast this morning but the buffet was tres ordinary and the (very helpful) receptionist told us where the breakfast cafés were. A superb breakfast by the little park ( (?)Ma Brown's - not sure of the first name) that was so good we were able to get some takeaway for tomorrow mornings early leave. The cost of this hotel is better than the small boutique hotel (without a view) that we stayed in on our way through 5 weeks ago so I guess that is also a,plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I've stayed here move than a dozen times over the last 5 years. While its not the most luxurious hotel in Wellington, I think it has the best location if you have appointments in the government district. Reasonably priced.

The accommodation and service are all fine. Breakfast is good, and dining room transfers to a great restaurant at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_o0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing