We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel close to train station and downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel close to train station and downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very good service by staff. Rooms clean, tidy and comfortable. Slight traffic noise in room facing the street . Restaurant breakfast was delicious and a nice way to begin the day. Only concern was the lack of Internet useage. 20 min. Per room is given and it cannot be spread out Throughout the day. Once you activate it it keeps on running.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the harbour. Traffic noise on street facing side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    748
    250
    62
    18
See reviews for
293
758
76
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Don't stay at this Hotel.

Booked 5 nights here 5 months in advance, only to be bumped on the morning we were arriving.

Only explanation was they were overbooked because it was Anzac Day.

That's why I booked it so early. Guarding against this happening. It happened anyway.

Very unprofessional.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank perryb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrigkie, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I’m sorry you have had to write this review after your discussion with our Reservations Manager at the hotel yesterday. It was explained to you that your booking was emailed through to us from your travel agent on the 16th of January and this request was responded to by our Reservations Supervisor on the same day. The Supervisor emailed your travel agent to state that we were fully booked and we were unable to take this booking. Unfortunately, your travel agent didn't pass this information on to you until yesterday. Rydges Wellington, on this occasion, has not bumped you at the last minute as from our communication with your travel agent - the booking was never confirmed at this hotel. If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to email me at Kieran_wright@rydges.com.

Regards,
Kieran Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Having just checked in when arriving without a proper booking (but being a Rydges member) I am pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, including a small kitchenette - always good when travelling with hungry kids! Room is spotless, bed and pillow really comfortable - we have room next to flit but there is no noise! Good choice

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Garl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrigkie, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi there. Thank you very much for you review. We do appreciate you placing feedback. I’m happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable. The kitchenettes in all 280 of our rooms really do set us apart and are perfect for families like yours. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kieran Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Friendly front desk staff. Room very clean and tidy. Comfortable bedding. Lovely products in the bathroom Choice of pillows . Ambient funky feel to the restaurant and bar. Fantastic dinner dining - meals were delicious. Great restaurant staff - nothing a problem with being gluten free and my husband being gluten free and sugar free. Easy check in and check out.
Loved it! x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrigkie, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your standout review. Our restaurant is always more than happy to accommodate all our guests and whatever special requirements they may have and I’m glad to hear that they did not disappoint in this aspect. I have passed along your kind words to our Food and Beverage Manager for him to pass on to all our restaurant staff. See you next time!
Kieran Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location - can walk around city easily from hotel. Quite, great beds for good sleep. I have stayed a few times depending if corporate rate applies on nights staying. Haven't had meals at restaurant but room service good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrigkie, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi there. Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your positive comments. It’s fantastic to hear that you are enjoying your experience with Rydges Wellington. Next time you stay with us, you really should make the effort to dine at Portlander as I guarantee you will not be disappointed. See you next time.
Regards,
Kieran Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Travelled with my husband, 7 year old and 4 year old. The staff at front desk did not smile, did a check on our credit card, which was obviously not a usual move as when leaving staff had to check why his was done. Also have asked friends who have stayed there and this did not happen with them. Were not asked if we wanted our bags carried to the room and when we got there the bins had not been emptied and glasses were dirty. Moved rooms and still not asked if we wanted help with the bags. Rooms were spacious. Best thing about the place and our reason for booking was the pool, sauna and spa. Overall a bit of an awkward stay, will look for different hotel next time we go to Wellington.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babaim82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrigkie, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations and I am sorry about this. It is general practice for our front desk staff to take a credit card authorization of $50.00 from all guests checking in. Guests will not be asked for a credit card if they stay with us very regularly or have all their charges covered by a third party. It is also common practice for our front desk staff to smile and be friendly. I am sorry if you did not receive this high level of service that we expect. I have passed on your feedback to our Rooms Division Manager to pass on to our front desk staff. Please feel free to email me at kieran_wright@rydges.com so we can discuss this further. I really do hope that you can give us another opportunity to prove to you that we really are Wellington’s best and friendliest hotel.
Regards, Kieran Wright.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is in a good position for the business traveller or visitor. I stay there several times a year as is is very convenient to my work.

The rooms are modern and pretend to have facilities for cooking but lack some basics such as bowls to cook in. Going to the gym (free down at the local gym a short walk down the road) is usually difficult more than once during a stay as there are no laundry facilities other than sending it away.

Beds are comfortable but on my last stay the room was on the main road side and sirens all through the night kept me awake. TV is not set right at the Sky or master unit for wide screen TV so cuts out a good part of the picture at the side.

The air conditioning units are terrible. Noisy and blow quite hard. I rarely use them and would rather keep warm by going to bed as dry bowing air gives me headaches and dry eyes. Does anyone else hate air conditioning units like these?

The restaurant is very expensive for breakfast so I head off elsewhere where I also know I will get freshly made food versus buffet.

Room Tip: Get a higher room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffBChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrigkie, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi there! Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts. In respect to the kitchenettes in the room, we only have the basics in the room as most often this is all most guests need, if you require any other cooking items (Pots, pans, plates, bowls, spatulas, etc) we are more than happy to deliver anything to your room very promptly. Please feel free to email me at Kieran_wright@rydges.com so I can make some changes to your profile notes. This means that next time we can allocate your room to your preferences (i.e away from the road, check your A/C etc). We look forward to seeing you back again next time.

Regards,

Kieran Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing