We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depending!”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
North Island, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Depending!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This central Wellington hotel has it all: location, a pretty good restaurant, and comfy, spacious rooms. Unless, that is, you get one of the cramped rooms looking into the office block next door. Request if you can one of the bigger rooms with a kitchenette on the front face of the building (not the back, from the rooms I've stayed in so far), especially if you're traveling as a couple.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room not one of the small ones facing the office building next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and also enjoyed dining at the Portlander restaurant. All 280 of our rooms include a kitchenette and our standard rooms are of the approximate same size. Next time you choose to stay at Rydges Wellington, do not hesitate to make a request for a room on the city side of the hotel. Our reservations staff and/or front desk staff will be more than happy to accommodate you, where possible, with a room of your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    780
    258
    65
    18
See reviews for
301
788
78
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Rydges Wellington wants to be a great hotel, but it's not quite there yet. The rooms themselves are pretty great and, unlike many other Wellington hotels, come with an air-conditioner. The rooms also have fridge, toaster and stove-top (though cookware must be requested). That said, small things stop this from being a five-star hotel. For starters, the laundry service is prohibitively expensive ($6/article). It is possible to do a traveller's wash but why you should have to in a hotel at this price is beyond me. Other small annoyances on my trip include the toilet becoming quite pungent after flushing and a 2% surcharge on credit card payments. That said, it's a fine hotel for sleeping (especially in summer) with some great package inclusions. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I’m very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and, I must agree, the fact that we have air conditioners in every room certainly is a benefit on hot summer days. Our team works hard to make sure we provide many packages that cater to different people’s needs as well as being great value. The kitchenette facilities in the rooms do not come equipped with cookware but we are more than happy to deliver any cookware and utensils upon request, as per the sign located on by the stove top. The Hotel does offer alternative methods of payment being pre-payment, cash or eftpos cards to avoid the fees. The Hotel does not generate a profit margin from this fee, it simply covers the fee that the credit card companies charge the Hotel. I hope that the team gave you the alternative options of payment. If you could send me your check out date and room number, I would like to get maintenance to check the plumbing issue mentioned in your review. My email is chelsea_laing@rydges.com
We look forward to seeing you again!
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed Rydges, Wellington in early January and found the hotel very pleasant and was very well located to everything. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very helpful with parking on the last day letting us leave our car there as long as we needed to as our flight back to Australia was not until much later in the day. There are some lovely restaurants close by and the museum and botanical gardens only a short walk. Shopping also close by. Would recommend Rydges for a nice middle of the road stay - rooms clean and comfortable. As an extra bonus we had great weather!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review! I’m very pleased to hear that our front desk staff were accommodating in letting you leave your car with us for the afternoon. Rydges Wellington is very centrally located so getting around to see all Wellington has to offer is a breeze and I’m so pleased you took up the opportunity to see our great city. What a bonus to have nice weather because as they say, here in Wellington, “You can’t beat Wellington on a good day”
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Typical Rydges hotel, bland, overpriced.... Priced like a luxury hotel, even a smart foyer, but stuffy staff leave you feeling you shouldn't have bothered them, huge charges for WiFi, no breakfast, etc... Will avoid from now on...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback I’m sorry to hear that your experience with Rydges Wellington was disappointing. I have passed on your feedback to the Front Office Manager, regarding the issues with the staff. Rydges Wellington prides itself on having one of the best breakfasts in town. Breakfast is available in Portlander, our restaurant located on the ground floor or available as room service in your room if you prefer. If you could email myself directly on chelsea_laing@rydges.com I would love some more information about your stay, including your details and date of stay as we feel your experience at the hotel was not of our high standard.
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for the harbour and museums. Nice view of the harbour The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The front of house staff are helpful and friendly. The restaurant is good. However the hotel is let down by its housekeeping staff who appear to lack any supervision or checks on their work. We stayed for 4 nights and once had to ask reception to get someone to clean our bathroom as it had not been cleaned and then on another day despite having the please service my room sign out our room was not visied at all by housekeepng and again we had to ask reception to sort it out. The lifts also were not very clean.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnypBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback on your stay with us, great to hear you enjoyed our central location to see all that Wellington has to offer. The housekeeping team let us down on this occasion, which is disappointing and has been brought to the attention of all housekeeping staff. We are currently undergoing a retraining program for our staff. I am happy to hear reception was able to assist you with these issues, however the calls should not have had to be made. I hope you will return, as you have not experienced the real Rydges Wellington.
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights - mixture of business and leisure. The rooms are a good size with excellent modern facilities and conducive to a very comfortable stay. I used the evening room service twice for a meal and i would say the choice and standard of the food was well above average - really tasty comtemporary food at reasonable prices. Location of the hotel is excellent - Wellington is a very accessible city in any case but i thought the hotel was in a good connected spot but quiet.
It has a new hotel feel to it in many ways, some of which means they have things to work on in my view. The cleaning service was patchy - my room was dusty on arrival and the daily service was a bit cursory i thought. The internet service is very poor - expensive, confusing in terms of data limits and the free 20 mins either doesnt work or you get it on a continuous free loop - it needs sorted. the leisure facilties are small and below the standard required for this marketplace i think.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watson1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for your review! Awesome to hear of your experiences with our room service menu, we have done a lot with this menu, and reflects many offerings from downstairs in the newly established Portlander Bar & Grill. We are a new hotel, in fact the newest there is in Wellington. I am disappointed to read of the cleaning quality, please be ensured I have passed on your feedback. In regards to your internet issues you will be happy to know we have just gone through changes with our internet services, which should fix the problems you have experienced. Thanks again for the time you took to give us feedback, hope to see you again.
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and whilst the rooms were lovely and we had a great view we did feel a little put off by a couple of things. Firstly free wifi, this was limited to 20 mins a day but you had to log in and if you didnt you don't accumulate it you just lose it and acting for it was expensive. We thought this a little strange ESP as its pretty standard now, even in places like India, even Asda has free wifi in its stores! Clearly it doesnt cost the hotel anymore. Second issue, breakfast on the first day was v busy and the staff were really good at dealing with everyone. My husband was asked if he wanted a coffee, my husband said yes assuming it was part of thebreakfast buffet we had paid for. The waitor brought him an expresso and charged us for it, we didn't realise until the following day when he asked for one and they told him they would charge for it. This came up on our bill at the end of our stay and I queried it but the staff member wouldn't take it off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsoniahelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for your feedback, it’s a shame a few things let the stay with us down a few points. In regards to the internet, we are charged by the internet provider for the usage of all hotel internet. I will ensure your feedback for the charge for coffee is passed on to the food and beverage team, as I can understand how you could assume it would be included had they not stated the charge for it when you ordered on the first day. I apologise that the communication failed on our end. Hope to see you back at the hotel.
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing