We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed with this hotel”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed with this hotel”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After staying at Rydges in Auckland we were expecting the same excellence. The valet parking is diabolical especially as they charge you $30 a day to use it. There is limited parking outside of the hotel and you have to wait for a car/taxi to move so that you can park. Reception staff were not friendly with as a matter of fact atitude. Room was what we expected until we saw that it had not been cleaned and someones hair strands in the bathroom and had not been vacuumed for a long while.
The only plus is the location and the reception staff need to be re-trained to actually help people and maybe smile a little. To top it all when leaving our car was parked acroos the road with no help offered. And the cherry on the cake was the 2% charged to my credit card.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sardross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I myself am also disappointed with the issues you faced here at Rydges Wellington. The issue relating to the loading zone is a frustrating one for us too, and our General Manager, Simon White is currently in discussions with the City Council on securing additional parking space in front of the hotel to create a larger loading zone. At present this is out of our control and we are awaiting the Council to make a decision on this . In regards to the cleanliness of your room, the Executive Housekeeper is currently undergoing further training with the Housekeeping Team to ensure all rooms are cleaned to the high standard we are known for here at the hotel. I hope that in the near future you will give us a second chance, as I believe what you have experienced is below our standard.
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    780
    258
    65
    18
See reviews for
301
788
78
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were upgraded to a high floor with great views across the harbour. The hotel is right in the middle of the city with an easy walk to Te Papa museum. Parking is a bit dear at $30 a night. Room was very clean and well appointed. Wonderful breakfast with juice shots and freshly made to order omelette. After travelling and staying with Rydges where possible in New Zealand we would recommend them. I was wishing Rydges Christchurch had reopened but that was not the case.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleencanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thanks for your review, and recommendation of our fantastic hotel in the capital. Great to see your hotel of choice is Rydges, see you again soon.
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time here! The service is very good and the room is clean! I like the fact that there is a microwave in the room! When you travel all the time, you sometime like to have an easy meal without having room service. After 6pm there is free parking on the street so you don't need to pay for valet parking. There is also public parking over near the pier! Definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellieJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for staying with us on your second visit, our first impressions did their job! Great to hear you made good use of the facilities in room, the kitchenette is perfect for an in room meal. Look forward to welcoming back for your third visit and reading about it on TripAdvisor!
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

stayed in a few lower budget hotels in the capital now and this is easily the best. modern well fitted out rooms in a location that is excellent especially if you are going to the stadium, is a short 10 minute walk. most of the central city attractions are easily reached, te papa cuba st and the tram. we had a reasonable view over the harbour and the restaurant was excellent. 30 bucks for valet parking was a little steep, would expect to pay that in Akl not Wgn.b ut all in all well worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdggnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying a night at Rydges Wellington recently. Staff where amazing to deal with and nothing was a problem. Rooms are very well equipped, comfortable and clean. We also had Dinner downstairs at the Portlander, which in my opinion is one of the finest restaurants that Wellington has to offer. Rydges Wellington is also very well located to Queens Wharf, Wellington train station and the CDB which made getting to our destinations just a quick walk. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlous54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, sounds like an all round excellent experience! Great to hear you made it to Portlander, it’s definitely not your average hotel restaurant. See you again soon.
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful room with an amazing view of Wellington harbour and everything we needed, very friendly and helpful staff and great breakfast in the morning. We just stayed there for a night but wish it had been longer. Definitnely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for the review, you are not alone with your comments about wishing to stay longer. Make sure to extend your stay with us next time!
Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rydges over the weekend and thought it was an excellent hotel. The rooms are large and modern, and the bathroom was clean. The location was good for Lambton Quary and the Cable Car, also good for the waterfront. The location was also good for catching the Airport Flyer (bus) from the airport. We caught the bus both ways and it was very easy, with the closest stop being a block or two away from the Rydges. $9pp each way. It was perhaps a 15-20 minute to Cuba Street and Courtenay Place, where there is good shopping and restaurants.
Probably the best part of the stay was the staff - I accidentally left my hair straighteners behind and they were handed into Reception thanks to housekeeping and one of the reception staff brought them back to me in Christchurch (as she happened to be coming down). Very much appreciated!

I would definitely recommend the Rydges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Kirsten,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor, and also the email that was sent last night. We are well located to all attractions and landmarks here in the capital, as mentioned a few reviews down, the airport flyer definitely is an affordable and convenient transport option. I completely agree, our staff are the best part of the hotel experience! I have passed on this fantastic feedback to our whole team, particularly to Areesa who returned your straighteners to you in Christchurch. Our staff are awesome, they are willing to go above and beyond to ensure the ultimate experience with us here at Rydges Wellington. Look forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future!

Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing