We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base in central Wellington”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We only spent one night at Rydges and didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, so our comments are limited. However the experience was good. The room was quite large and comfortable, the staff friendly and it was good to be able to use the (very small) gym and lap pool. It was also an ideal base from which to explore Wellington, being near the parliament buildings and harbour. We booked and paid in advance and the rate we got was extremely good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to review your brief stay with us! We are conveniently located in the capital to access all local attractions, by booking in advance you are definitely guaranteed a great rate. Hopefully next time you visit us you can spend more time here as Wellington has so much to offer, and I recommend trying our restaurant Portlander.
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,566 - 1,572 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights to explore Wellington. A very modern hotel, clean line furnishings. We had a room with a view of the harbor and Bilbo Baggins poster on the Post building. The staff was friendly but we were disappointed that when we arrived they didn't have a valet ready to helps us in and park the car. They do have valet parking and they did deal with the car after we checked in. We got a great recommendation from reception for a restaurant (Shed 5) that was awesome. Comfortable bed and all the expected amenities.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Frances157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for your review, Wellington certainly has turned into ‘the Middle of Middle Earth’ with the world premiere of the Hobbit. Great to hear of your dining experience, hope you got to try Portlander while you stayed with us too!
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel location was at the quiet end of town. The rooms were comfortable albeit a bit on the smaller side. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffett and was definitely worth the price. The gym could do with a couple more machines though. Otherwise, a very nice hotel in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for the review, great to hear of your comfortable experience with us, the breakfast is definitely a must when you stay with us! Our gym is quite limited in space, therefore offering our guests access to CityFitness just down the road. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

...and thank you!
It was our honeymoon and we got a hand-signed card ! ... which was the only one in 3 weeks staying in quite a lot of different hotels ... !!
Hotel is located most conveniently... easy access to downtown Wellington but also close to the ferry terminal... which was important to us as we travelled to the South Island afterwards.
Restaurant was excellent... very friendly staff and excellent wining´n dining... we loved it !

We'll be back again!

Sincerely,
Mike and Nicole
(from Cologne Germany)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Firstly congratulations Mike and Nicole, on your recent wedding! Great to hear our personal touches helped with making your honeymoon such a memorable one. Hope the rest of your New Zealand trip is just as spectacular, you chose the perfect country to visit for your special occasion. From the Rydges Wellington team and myself, we wish you all the happiness for your future together.
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Rydges. The room was comfortable and well equipped and well located in the city centre. Parking turned out to be easy as they will valet park for $30 -- only $2 more than the multi-storey round the corner charges. Breakfast was quite pricey but good. But, yet another Rydges hotel with a rubbish Internet policy. When are they going to realise that travellers these days expect free wireless broadband?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hi there,
Thanks for your review, great to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. Parking with us is great, pull up to our loading bay and leave your keys with our staff we will park it away and get it for you as often as you require throughout your stay. Our wifi charges are competitive against other hotels in Wellington, but know that I have passed this feedback on to management.
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Rydges Wellington is a very nice hotel that has clearly been recently renovated.
The rooms are modern, clean and well laid out, including power points at the bedside.
While the hotel gym is very very small, they can give you complimentary access to the Wellington
City Gym, which is an awesome gym with great classes and vast numbers of machines. Its about 400 meters up the road, which is perfect as a warm up run.

I had the breakfast included in the rate and the range and quality is excellent.

Having dinner there as a solo traveller is a bit annoying as while the steaks are excellent, they come with no sides and so you are forced to spend upwards of $25 to get some variety on the table.

The Wellington train station is very close and there is a New World supermarket there, which is great for picking up some food and toiletries. The waterfront is also very close.

I strongly recommend both the Rydges and the Musuem Hotel in Wellington, though the Museum has a slightly better location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for the 5/5 review! We are the newest and largest hotel in town, ensuring to provide our guests with all the modern amenities as an innovative hotel in Wellington. Great to hear you made good use of our amenities at the hotel, and thanks for your recommendation of Rydges Wellington, we will see you again soon.
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The view from our room was absolutely stunning! I would definetly recommend the Harbourview rooms on the 16th floor!! There was a small balcony off our room and given the great weather last Sunday, it really was awesome, standing out there taking in the stunning harbour and surrounding area.
The level of customer service was high - the staff were very warm, welcoming, friendly, helpful and professional. We were impressed! The room itself was lovely - shame we weren't staying for longer than a night!
Breakfast the next morning in their restaraunt was superb!! The best breakfast we have had in a very long time - plenty of choices and beautifully presented.
Location wise, Rydges is positioned perfectly - the city and the waterfront within easy walking distance.
We really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaLaingWLG, Head of Customer Relations at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

What a great way to sum up your stay ‘Picture Perfect’! Our harbour view is spectacular, Wellington sure has been turning up the heat with its great run of summer weather. I am proud to say we have a fantastic team of staff here at Rydges Wellington, who always go out of their way to ensure the best for our guests. Thanks for this great review, and for your recommendation.
Chelsea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $125 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing