We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Booked a weekend away in Wellington, leading up to the trip I received a confirmation E-mail from the hotel with the dates and advising the cot I requested would be in the room. Checked-in with sleeping daughter in tow, reception staff were not that friendly. After battling with the elevator - could not get the card to work, get into the room and the cot wasn't there. Wasn't the best start to our stay. Room was nice though, some furniture had taken a beating though, bedroom door (was in a suite) didn't latch shut and would open whenever it felt like it. View looking in the offices next door wasn't ideal but didn't spend much time indoors. Little touches like the phone still said on it "Holiday Inn". Unfortunately I don't have a lot of positive things to say about the experience - the ladies in the restaurant were very cheerful for early morning. All up, what we paid was not worth what we got. Would have rather stayed somewhere for less and expected to get this standard of service.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicbloxnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,886)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,610 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed at quite a few Rydges over the years and found this one to be really good. The location is great for Wellington as we could easily walk to everything. The upgrade to the Harbourview Room really made it because you could just sit in the room and enjoy the sights. Wi-Fi in the lobby was adequate although I always feel as though it is like having running water only in the lobby - so 1860's. We were impressed by the provision of cooking implements (saucepans etc.) we didn't use them but it really recognises the realities of the modern traveller.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePrests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been travelling New Zealand and have been staying at Rydges properties. Since we signed up for the hotel reward program, we were upgraded to the executive floor of the hotel. This also included one free drink, 20% food and drinks at the restaurant, and 50% off the expensive Internet. The room was well equipped with a mini fridge and microwave but with no utensils if you wanted to warm-up and eat something in the room.

Since it was raining with gale force winds, we decided to workout in the gym instead of walking around the city. The gym was located in the back of the lap pool area. The pool was 17m long which is long for most hotels. The gym, however, was the smallest and most awkward gym we have ever seen. Once you open the door, if you wanted to use the only treadmill or the only exercise bike, you had to squeeze between the handlebars of both units in order to use them. The room was triangular and had room for one person on each device and one using the free weights on the mat front of the door. The gym had no air circulation and the equipment showed signs of rust from the humidity from the pool.

The front desk was very accommodating and the valet services although expensive ($30) met our needs.

Room Tip: Sign up for the Rydges reward program.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

First impressions are lasting. Check-in a joke and we had to wait until 16:30 for our rooms to be ready, which we were promised would be 14:00. Our loyalty card was supposed to have been delivered to the hotel, but of course no-one had a clue of this and didn't make an effort to resolve this. I still haven't received it.

The rooms are average - there are still some remnants of the Holiday Inn look. (Of course I don't agree with their Qualmark 4+ rating). Next time in Wellington, we'll squat outside the Bolton to get a room there (much more for less).

Nice lap pool and sauna though.SItuated on the fringe of the CBD, so ideal for the Train Station and ferry terminal shuttle.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms if the howling Welly wind would bother you...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with my family. The room is cozy and stylish. The air con was a little bit difficult to control but other than that everything is fine.

The only drawback of the hotel only have valet parking, and maybe it's only me, it's hard to find the parking place around the citycentre. The valet parking is 30 NZD per night which is fine, but personally I'm not a big fan of letting anyone to drive my car (even that's just a rental car).

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank GLaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Rydges Wellington and having stayed at hotels all over the world I must say that the service here is the best we've experienced anywhere. Portlander restaurant was exceptional with the breakfast buffet second to none. Thanks to Rob and the team for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definetly be back for another vist.

Room Tip: Corner room had a great view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isfandiyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Two rooms for 6 of us. Excellent service. Very helpful. Central to everything. Will stay here again. Really nice place to just chill out. Had drinks in the evening and where well priced. Nice quiet rooms. Pool and Spa were very clean and well taken care of and enjoyed by all. Great to have extra towels there. Only one small issue was that we asked for the two rooms to be next door to each other, but ended up with a room on 7 and a room on 9th floor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kowhai16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $131 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing