We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times now and everything was great, a very well run hotel! Everything from the check-in/out service, the staff, the room, the bed, the bathroom, the breakfast was perfect! The breakfast buffet was one of the best and highest quality we have ever come across, nothing to fault! Will book here again and again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 690JustinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,885)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,647 - 1,653 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

When ever I am heading to Wellington for a couple of nights the Rydges hotel is always the place to stay whether it be with family, friends or by my self. The service given by all the staff (reception, house keeping, restaurant staff, etc) is exceptional. No matter who you talk to they are always very helpful and friendly. The front desk gives great recommendations on restaurants (particularly the hotel restaurant), places to see and do around wellington and handy hints on the best shopping spots.
The rooms are nice and modern while always being cleaned to the highest standard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great weekend overall; everything from the breakfast to the service was amazing! I had both dinner and breakfast there and both were delicious. The staff were friendly and efficient and it had a lovely environment. Definitely recommendable and will go there again next time I am in Wellington.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Anna_on_tour_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First time staying at the Rydges in Wellington, and everything was impressive! The view to the harbour was stunning, and both the room and the bathroom were clean and of a high standard. Staff recommended the Portland Restaurant which is part of Rydges, and after visiting the restaurant for dinner, their recommendation was well deserved. The food was fantastic and the astmophere was great! The buffet breakfast was also amazing. Will certainly be returning to the Rydges when in Wellington again.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are wonderful!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I recently went to the restaurant at Rydges Wellington
- The Portlander. We had heard several good things about this
restaurant and they all lived up to expectation. The staff were
friendly, the service was efficient but the food was definitely the
highlight. I had the Pistachio Lamb and it was cooked to perfection -
delicious flavours! Will certainly be returning for another meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great place, very well presented with brilliant and friendly staff! My girlfriend and I had both breakfast and lunch in the restaurant, the breakfast was an excellent quality buffet style meal. For the lunch we both tried a different kind of burger and were both very impressed with both the quality and value for money. There also seemed to be extra attention given to even the little details in the presentation of both the food and the hotel overall. I will definitely be recommending the Hotel anyone looking for a place to stay in Wellington.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed the weekend with family at the Rydges. The room was great - spacious and modern with a great view of Wellington. Breakfast was amazing with alot to choose from and all the staff were great and a pleasure to deal with. Location was great with it being in close proximity to everywhere we wanted to go - could just walk. Would definitely stay again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $131 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing