We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Makeup”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Rydges Hotel is a very modern and well set up hotel. The rooms are of a very good size and well appointed with plenty of natural ligh from the many windows. The location is great being close to the shopping area of Lambton Quay and plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes close to hand as well as places such as Courtney Place and the Cuba quarter. Had a great weekend stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiflemanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,712 - 1,718 of 1,925 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Rydges Wellington is an absolute gem! Stayed there with a friend for a weekend away of shopping. It is such a perfect location. The rooms are lovely and spacious. Lovely pool and small gym. This time we had a package with breakfast and we were so impressed with the quality and presentation. Loved the fresh smoothies! Most impressed with the Rydges- as always.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lailbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

In the weekend I had an excellent stay at Rydges in Wellington. The room was so lovely and warm/homley and very comfortable.
Highlights were the big bath and bathroom, very comfortable beds and the yummy buffet breakfast. The bircher museli was amazing and breakfast catered for everyone.
The staff at the front desk were very friendly, polite and helpful.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rydges hotel. The room we had was spacious and warm. The heater had been put on for our arrival which was a nice touch and a must in the middle of winter. All of the required amenities and facilities were provided. The bed was comfortable. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful and promptly organized taxis when we needed them. The only downside to our stay at the Rydges was that the restaurant was being renovated and had been located on one of the floors, something we weren't aware of when we booked.

Otherwise the Rydges Wellington is highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and will make sure I pass them onto the team. My apologies for the lobby and restaurant refurbishment at the moment. The works will be completed by Monday 16 July and will add to what is a great experience at Rydges Wellington. The hotel currently has a bar and restaurant open on the 2nd floor of the Hotel, whilst not ideal it is still delivering the high standard of food and beverage we have a reputation for. Again my apologies for the inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel Rydges is centrally located hotel.I styad in this hotel from 21-24(check out) june
2012.I stayed in this hotel few years back,when it was manged by Holiday inn group.
Very Hospitable Front desk.Efficient Bell desk services.House Keeping is prompt in service.Restaurant though not spacious,offers reasonable variety of eatables.Restaurant serves you a very hot vegetable Omlette .Vegetarians may not have any problem with food.Hotel is very close by to New Zealand Parliament,Victoria Universty of Wellington,and railway station.Indian will be thrilled to have a glimpse of Mahatma Gandhi Statue opposite the railway station.PAPA Museum amd wellington city Museum are walkable distance to hotel.I had a very comfortable stay in Hotel Rydges,Wellington.I recommend.

Room Tip: Pl ask for room facing COOPERATIVE BANK for better view of traffic..Pl keep your room key always wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhima2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your review and it sounds like you had a great stay in the Capital and the ability to see what makes this such a great city. Look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand if you get another opportunity to travel to this part of the world Regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had a fantastic weekend at Rydges Wellington, treated myself to an upgrade to Harbour View room. Views were just great especially at night. Had breakfast at the restaurant, that buffet is not your average hotel buffet...individual smoothie shots and yoghurt pots to bagels and fresh pastries. YUM! Made use of the swimming pool and spa, was nice and hot too and good to look out at the wintery day. Close to Lambton Quay for shopping...seems I timed by break well as there was sales galore. Great hotel, great service, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Harbour View Rooms are worth the upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your review and am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Rydges Wellington. I hope that this will be your choice of Hotels when you come up from the South Island and visit Wellington in the not so distant future. I will let the chef know of your comments regarding his breakfast. Regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

15th floor bliss!! We spent a magical weekend in Wellington. Our room at Rydges was spectacular. The 1 bedroom apartment with balcony on the 15th floor was fantastic. Views of the water and city, excellent facilities. Service and food were outstanding. Great location. Highly recommended, we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Choose a 1 bedroom suite, worth every cent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pkiwi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for making comment on Tripadvisor and agree that the harbour view rooms are spectacular from the higher floors in the Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back to wellington and Rydges. Regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $127 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing