We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Space galore”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Space galore”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here the night before and night of our wedding. We were treated to a king deluxe suite. A few signs of wear and tear in various spots, but on the whole the room was well presented. Comfy bed, excellent bathroom, and the general size of the room was fantastic. More than enough space for me, my bridesmaid, as well the the hairdresser and makeup chick.
A couple of service issues - the front desk didn't inform us that our driver had arrived, and the tall stool we requested didn't turn up.
Breakfast we fabulous. I love the smoothie shots.
All in all though, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    758
    252
    64
    18
See reviews for
294
771
78
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Found this on a Wotif deal and it was the best value ever.I could not believe it.
Location is near the railway station end of Wellington and an easy walk to most central
Places.Rooms were well furnished -almost New York apartment style-felt quite luxurious and the cityscape of buildings captured this feel.
Staff were very friendly and you could not fault the service.A very enjoyable stay and would
Stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We found this great hotel in the middle of Wellington. The staff were really fiendly and our room was a good size and very comfortable. The valet parking was a plus and our room was really good value especially as we only booked with one days notice. The indoor pool/spa/gym are really good. The bar and restaurant were a great place to meet up with friends and once again good value. This is our new place to stay when we come back to Wellington. Dont forget to visit Peter Jacksons Movie Theatre The Roxy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heymish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

I booked a superior king room with breakfast. Checking was fast and I was given a room on the 5th floor facing the main street.
The bed was very uncomfortable and the road noise was something that I should not have to pay for. The wireless internet expensive at $25.00 for a 24 hour period. With minimal speed. Would I stay again well you get what you pay for

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittagong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

was a pleasant weekend there....nice motel ....nice staff....but too money hungry.....$10 for a bottle of water and $6.50 for a very small coke in the rooms....at the bar my wife was charged $13 for half a glass of sav blon house wine......we bought a full bottle of the exact same brand a few days earlier for $6.99 .....dont mind paying a bit extra but not happy about being ripped off....then the breakfast was very nice but at $29 each it should be ...then they wanted to charge $4.50 for a coffee on top of that price.....may need a second job before we could afford to stay with them again

Room Tip: very noisy up high with the wind shaking the ac unit all night ......and make sure your wallet is fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great hotel , very nice staff , great breakfast ,comfortable rooms BUT why do so many hotels still insist on charges for wireless access in your room ? I was using the free city wifi outside the hotel ,inside being charged to use Rydges network . Yes , you do get a free 20mins in the lobby but I find it hard to work in a crowd . My only niggle !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

we booked the family deal with breakfast - and boy the breakfast was great. I stay at Rydges in Australia quite often and this one was one of the best, and the brekky - excellent. Fresh, good variety, eggs to order and some nice touches. Much better than some tired hotel buffet's that you sometimes get at good hotels.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank spjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing