We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed as a family in their double double room. Checking in and out was fine, the hotel staff were friendly. We booked through a special weekend rate, it included a full breakfast for all of us and the breakfast was just fab! There was a variety of food and drinks for us and the kids and I highly reccomend eating breakfast at the hotels restaurant. We also had dinner there and like the breakfast, the dinner for the adults and kids was just top class. The waiters we had both nights were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the middle of town and close to everything. We had a great stay at Rydges and out of all the hotels I have stayed at in NZ, this was 5 star.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EB80Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,761 - 1,767 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

My wife and i were so pleased with this gem of a hotel when we had a three night break over Easter. Its a newly refurbished hotel and is much more modern and boutique than i expected.
Views were great over the harbour, Beds and room very comfortable with great design and colours.We even had some complimentry easter eggs!

I made regular us of the swimming pool sauna and spa which was well kept with fresh towels and water. There's a mini gym attached to it good enough for a little fix. Spa very hot by the way but we prefer that to sitting in a like warm one.
They go to a lot of effort for breakfast here, very tasty mini eggs bendict etc Makes for a light hearted fun start to the day.

Location great just near the water and the front desk staff effortlessly helpful with my long list of places to go.
Easter weekend is a quiet time for City centres so I look forward to staying at this place again during the City's weekday hustle and bustle sometime soon.

Room Tip: This hotel has 17 floors the higher you go he better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Check in service was excellent, with very friendly staff. My fiancée wasn't checking in at the same time so he politely suggested leaving a key card for her at reception (good proactive thinking). Room was a good size, with all the things you need. Great iron - nice and clean (very important for business travelers). The only thing that stopped it getting 5 stars for me was the hot water in the shower which fluctuated quite a bit from too cold to too hot. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Get above the tenth floor. Traffic is a bit noisy at lower levels but overall traffic in wellingtons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at Rydges for the first time and were very impressed with the service, the accommodation and the best breakfast anywhere.
We had a room on the 16th floor with superb views of the city and the harbour. Nice, modern room with up to date facilities plus the bonus of a deck was very welcome. .
Really attentive staff with lots of smiles :-).
Rydges breakfast is a real treat and not your normal Hotel buffet. Awesome presentation and equally matched in the quality & selection of the food on offer.
Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at the Rydges on business for several weeks and was happy there. The staff were very accommodating and made every to meet my needs, including requests for an openable window (they gave me a room with a balcony) and for storage of personal items while I spent a weekend away.

I also loved the free gym card they offer guests - to the city life gym up the road in Thordon, a nearby suburb. The walk to the gym is just 5mins and is worth it - it is a well appointed gym with a Pilates and yoga studio attached (Abundance) so most gym goers will be able to find somehing they'd like to do.

All the rooms in Rydges have capacity for basic self-catering including kettle, microwave and stove top, as well as enough kitchen gear to cook something simple.

Rydges was good and is a trusty choice when in Wellington. It was around $165 a night and i was not disappointed with what I got for that price.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiYogaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

It was great to have you stay here for a couple of weeks and thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We endeavour to meet all guest requests in particular our guests that are staying for a longer period of time. Knowing that it will be your home away from home and travel is harder than we first think I believe from your feedback that we were able to meet your needs. Look forward to welcoming you back for work or leisure sometime soon in the future. Regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Helpful reception staff were eager to keep our luggage when we arrived 4 hours before check in time and offered advice on coffee places,restaurants and tourist sites which turned out to be far better than the official tourist centre.
The room was quiet,clean, had lovely views and was ideal.I loved the wonderful service which was unassuming and never "in your face", just nice people who treated guests very well.
We did not eat at the hotel as there were so many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance as were all of the places we wanted to see.Being so close to Parliament and the harbour was an additional boost
.I would recommend this hotel for every category of visitor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for commenting on Rydges Wellington and am very happy that you were able to have a great break. We share all comments on Tripadvisor with staff and they will be thrilled at your comments as this is what we are continually striving for. I hope that your stay in New Zealand was fantastic and you were able to enjoy what this great country has to offer. Regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Spent a quick weekend away in Wellington to see the Unveiled wedding exhibit and do some shopping. Second time I had stayed at Rydges Wellington (first being during RWC), the hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are spacious, we were up on the 14th floor, so had beautiful views of the waterfront.
Ate in the restaurant the first night, the menu is extremally diverse, everything looked delicious. Breakfast also does not disapoint, so much selection, you can make your own juices, request a coffee of your choice, the staff are so accommodating.
Front desk staff are very knowledgable, recommended some great places to shop and eat for the remainder of the weekend and booked transport for us without making us feel like it was a hassle.
The location is perfect, you are in walking distance to the shopping and the waterfront. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gffree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Rydges Wellington look forward to having you back in the Capital. The exhibit was great and I am glad the Hotel was able to make your weekend away with the girls such a positive experience. As I commented on my last review that the Portlander restaurant and bar opens in the Hotel at the end of April which will give you another experience which I am hoping will create a highlight of your stay in Wellington. Looking forward to the next exhibit or event in the Capital. Regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,234 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $119 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing