We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stay at Rydges quite often and so when we knew we were going to New Zealand we thought we would try this one. We found it to be great, staff were friendly and the room was quiet and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your stay at Rydges Wellington and am happy that we are of the same standard of the other Rydges Hotels that you have stayed in. I hope that you had a great time in New Zealand. Regards Simon. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    746
    248
    62
    18
See reviews for
292
756
75
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We booked this as a "Mystery" hotel on lastminute.com, for a three day stay. The service from beginning to end was faultless with every staff member exceeding expectation. The rooms were very clean and well maintained, and it was an added bonus to be given an upgrade to a room with a harbour view. All in all an exceptionally pleasant experience, and all staff should feel very proud of their customer service skills.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. It is great to hear that your stay at Rydges Wellington exceeded your expectations and with all reviews we share them with the team to provide feedback on guest expectations and service deliveries. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wellington in the not so distant future. Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I found this hotel to be very well run and the rooms were fantastic, i.e. quiet and clean. The restaurant Plate was great dined here on 2 of my 3 night stay and each night was great. The staff were always very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMcGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
The restaurant is going from strength to strength with our new Executive Chef, Kit Foe. Chef’s current menu is getting tremendous feedback and with the our new concept restaurant starting in the last week of April the Hotel Food & Beverage will take on another dimension of excellence, I am hoping! Thank you for your review and appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

20 mins free Internet. Nice touch. Very handy for the westpac stadium. Bar does a small menu of good value, tasty bar snacks.

This is our go to choice now in Wellington having stayed in a variety of places in the city for many years.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
The Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back to Wellington in the near future and appreciates you making comments on Tripadvisor. The location is great for the stadium and was a very mixed bag of results last week with a great win for the Phoenix, however the Hurricanes struggled on Saturday night. Let’s hope for better results as the season moves forward. Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Good location and we had excellent views over the harbour. Typical city hotel, but well appointed and staff efficient. Very easy access to embarkation point for Picton Ferry. Comfortable stay and would be happy to return.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your stay in March and look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy everything Wellington has to offer. Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I walked in off the street and got a better rate than the Internet prices. Friendly helpful staff, and a great room with nice touches. Really nice bar and restaurant and as a business traveller it's very welcoming even when dining (and oops drinking) by yourself.

I liked it

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ-Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
The Hotel sometimes offers standby rates at the front desk, however it is based on availability on the day of arrival. Thank you for commenting on the Hotel and Food & Beverage outlets and am hoping that you were able to sample some of the complimentary canapés between 5.00 & 6.00pm to accompany that drink. Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We recently traveled to Wellington for the weekend for a family wedding. We selected Rydges in Featherston Street pretty randomly - good deal on Wotif. It turned out to be about a block from our wedding venue with a beautiful view of the harbour from our room. The room itself was really nice, clean, modern and comfortable and with great facilities for small scale self-catering, although we didn't use them this time. The breakfast buffet, which was included with our deal was the best breakfast buffet I've had (and believe me I KNOW my buffets ;o) !! The staff were very friendly, efficient and any requests we had were smoothly handled. All in all it was the perfect place for our weekend away. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour - you won't need to turn on the TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCDC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
What a bonus that the location was so handy for the family wedding. Thank you for your comments on the Hotel and as all reviews will share this with our staff and I will take a copy down to Diva our breakfast chef who will be thrilled to hear your view on her selection. Look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Simon General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,358 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing