We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capital Hotel for Capital City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Capital Hotel for Capital City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We spent just one night here, but would happily have stayed longer. Everything was perfect, especially the room and location. The hotel is right in the City centre and not far from the Ferry terminal, museum, Botanic Garden, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horatio1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
On your next visit to Wellington it is definitely worth staying longer to experience what the Capital has to offer . Thank you for staying with us and l hope that you enjoyed your time in New Zealand
Regards
Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    733
    243
    61
    18
See reviews for
286
738
74
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Thought the hotel seemed a little tired, but it's a great location. Very good breakfast spread; particularly liked the orange/carrot/apple juicer available.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rub14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we have just spent a considerable investment in the hotels breakfast offerings. We are getting great feedback on what we are now offering as it is very different from what most Hotels are offering in the marketplace. The Hotel is continually changing and we have over the past 6 months installed new flat screen televisions, wireless internet through out the Hotel, new showerheads, iPod docking stations (commenced and will be finished at the end of March), bathroom blinds, pillows and new irons/ironing boards. We have been listening to feedback on what our guests needs are and have made changes were we believe is most important. I hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and hoping that you come back for a return visit
Regards
Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here en route from North to South island.
The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful.
I had emailed ahead following trip advisor advice to request a complimentary upgrade to a harbour view and was absolutely thrilled when this was followed through to a super room with a great harbour view.
Breakfast was exceptional value.
The evening menu was a bit too fancy but there are cooking facilities in the room and very quickly a light snack prepared and enjoyed.
Very comfortable room and bathroom.
I certainly recommend a stay here .

Room Tip: Seek a complimentary upgrade to harbour view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaggersLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and I hope that you had a great stay in New Zealand. I am happy that there was some availability in the Hotel to offer you an upgrade on your recent stay and you were able to view the Harbour from your room. The Hotel has recently employed Kit Foe, a local Wellington Chef who has been able to transform the dining experience at the Hotel from a Hotel menu to more of a restaurant menu which we are starting to get rave reviews on. Dishes like “Hare Wellington” which is Kit’s take on Beef Wellington have been a favourite. We are in the process of changing all menus throughout the Hotel and as you suggested above the breakfast concept is exceptional. I wish you a great 2012 year
Regards
Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossvale
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

nothing to much to write about it was just a stop over as the next day we caught the interisland ferry you got the feeling they were just doing their job not rude though we stayed in room 905 deluxe king harbour view rooms are small but modern had a kitchenette nice veiws of harbour bed was good the location was great for what we were doing ate at the resturant the girl was bubbly and friendly the food was good

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgrRydges, General Manager at Rydges Wellington, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
I hope that you are able to return to New Zealand again in the future and spend a couple of days in Wellington to be able to experience such things as TePapa , the cable car to admire the spectacular views over Wellington city and harbour and then walk through the Botanical gardens back to the city to name just a few. Thank you for your comments and hoping that your stay in New Zealand exceeded your expectations
Regards
Simon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed for three nights on the 15th of January 2012 with a family of four. Arrived on Sunday and found a park out the front of the hotel for the rental car. You don't pay for parking on Sundays in Wellington. The hotel reception is nice and check in was good. The receptionist gave us a nice view over the parliament areas. The water views would be nicer though as wellington is very nice. The room is nicely decorated and has a kitchen with a microwave. Great if you're staying with kids. The rooms are on an angle so space it limited compared to other rooms i have stayed in. In the afternoon alot of heat comes into these rooms. I left the blinds pulled on two occasions but housekeeping opened them up on one occasion causing the rooms to be very hot when we returned from our day trip.
.
The pool is nice but the spa is a little too hot. The gym should be removed to save embarrassment to the hotel.
.
CON:
When i woke up the next morning i went and valet the car. I checked the car thoroughly as it had been parked on the street. I left it in the hands of the valet. I took the car out on two other occasions to go to local lookouts. There was no damage to the vehicle on these occasions when i received or returned it. I was being vigilant as these were our final days in NZ. On the last day prior to going to the airport i got the car and saw they had bumped the bumper and a portion of the bumper had come undone.
.
I went inside and the valet attendant appeared ready for why i was coming in. He was nervous and pulled out a ticket he has supposedly done on Monday showing the damage. This ticket was never provided to me and I suggested that he could of done it in hindsight. Flustered he got the manager to speak to me. The manager supported his worker as I would in his situation. The manager left his details for the rental car company to discuss the issue but assumed no responsibility. In the end it would of been me wearing the damage to the rental company and chasing Rydges. When i returned the car Europcar they did not bill me for the damage as the bumper just needed to be fixed back into place.
.
I think it would be unfair of me rank the Rydges poorly for the actions of one person. Just be mindful though there is one dishonest person working in the valet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeye007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I will definately be returning to Rydges Wellington. Location is amazing, fantastic facilities and staff are so abliging. Facilities such as iPod dock and complimentary woman's weekly magazine really set it apart from other hotels I have stayed in, in New Zealand!
Well done Rydges Wellington!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Great stay. Excellent restaurant with best breakfast I have had in a long time. Parking on street was fine as we were leaving before 8am. Room was good size and well presented with good views. Only down sides were that the image on the TV didn't fit the screen, a bit of adjustment needed but remote wouldn't allow me to do it. Alarm clock was cheap and tacky. Volume switch didn't work. Apart from that, it was good. Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for room on level 6 or 7, better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing